We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Artemise

L'Artemise
Reserve with
L'Artemise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 115 Restaurants in Uzes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $86
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: L'Artémise works with local producers wherever possible and uses exclusively fresh seasonal produce of the highest quality. All dishes are prepared by our Chef with the aim to bring out the best of their ingredients. Julien Lavandet offers two menus : Julien menu at 55 € (Amuse-bouche, starter, main course, pre-dessert and dessert) Artémise menu at 80 € (Amuse-bouche, 2 starters, 2 main courses, cheese, pre-dessert and dessert).
sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Artemise. It won't be our last. Hidden down little lanes away from the heady surrealism of the Fete Votive occupying Uzes, it is an architectural and gastronomic gem. Presented with a choice of only fish or meat ( the menu is one wonderful surprise after another ) , they remembered I had specified my daughter was vegetarian, checked if she could eat eggs and cheese and made her a series of bonnes bouches as wonderful as ours. Not the usual assiette de legumes a vegetarian is often presented with in France. The courses were diverse and inventive and the portion size controlled so as more and more kept coming we could keep up with it. It is expensive, way beyond our usual budget, be we felt it was worth every euro. One for special occasions and bringing friends who love good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    93
    40
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arriving through scented wild gardens to a marvelously restored set of stone buildings. Already enchanting. The atmosphere is dreamy, suggestive and, with my partner, very romantic. The food, it's presentation and service seem an easy continuation of the seduction leaving us inspired at having enjoyed and indulged deeply.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Full101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

There is no menu here but a full explanation of options available is provided. We went for the 4 course option which was interspersed with a variety of additional tastings. All food was beautifully presented and delicious. Restaurant is very smart and if weather permits there is a lovely terrace and even tables set about the gardens. We were given good directions from Le Clos du Lethe but the restaurant is not the easiest to find - about 1km north of Uzes.......but well worth the effort!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshBankers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gets better each year”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have been visiting L'Artemise since it opened. The beautiful surroundings are unchanged, the careful design giving an almost dreamlike feeling to the beautiful garden setting. The food was always great but has, if anything, improved over the last year or so. The mackerel escabeche; the monkfish stuffed with chorizo; the truly indescribable pommes purée - these we're some truly remarkable dishes and the memory will linger long. Top tip: allow Maitre d' Victor to choose your wine from the very reasonably-priced selection. He truly knows his stuff and will make a better decision than you. Book early and go before the owners realise they could be charging double for this quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Another great experience this summer”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I normally write my reviews in English and will take that risk again ( having read a few recent reviews translated in French by google makes me nervous :)
My son owns Terroirs on the place aux Herbes. We wanted a good restaurant near Uzes and he suggested l'Artemise. Perfect choice. Having discovered recently another menu surprise at Mirazur in Menton ( two Michelin stars ) , we wanted to repeat the experience. Same approach. You simply indicate what you do not want to eat, including allergies, and whether you prefer meat or fish. Let the chef compose your menu and surprise you. We were pleasantly surprised by a succession of excellent dishes. The flavours were impeccable and refined. I will not try to describe them as you will experience a different menu when you visit. An excellent desert based on cherries will soon no longer be served when cherries will disappear from the market...
The wine list is extensive and gives preference to wines from the region . If you do not like wines above 14 % , relax. A few bordeaux are available. We had a very good 2006 Saint Emilion, very reasonably priced. We had started with an excellent Meursault.
And all this in a beautiful garden with very attentive and efficient service. After Mirazur in Menton, this was another great experience which we warmly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Artemise also viewed

Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers, Uzes
 

Been to L'Artemise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing