We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect balance”
Review of Le Mas du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas du Lac
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Uzes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent a week in summer last year, and we will certainly do it again. I don't expect daily housekeeping from a B&B... it's part of the deal. And I perfectly understand the comfort limitations of an old 'Mas' ... and that's part of the charm!!
Our 6 yo daughter learned to swim in the nice, well integrated, PRIVATE pool, ...so this place will remain in among our beloved memories, and we will certainly go back again. We were able to try a different sort of honey every morning, we enjoyed the spontaneous shared evenings with other guests and our hosts... or just enjoyed the calm and the beauty of the place. When you travel in the south of France, it's so nice to find a place protected from the crowds, still close enough to the different things to see and do!
For families who want to find the good balance between charm, interesting talks, cultural traveling, and fun, discovery and a NOT CROWED POOL, le Mas du Lac is ideal!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Attracted by the nice pictures and caracter of the place. However, in real it was the worst place visted ever.
the owner, Martine, was called 'la sorcière' by some of the guests and we could only share this opinion. Do not understand why such a person is running a B&B.
The rooms are not cleaned during your stay, the pool is not clean and full of dirt even during high season ! We are a family with 3 kids and did have to ask for everything, could not sit were we wanted, for everything was to much to ask for.
Did book 10 nights but stayed 4, which felt like 4 in jail.
Close the place please ... would feel sorry for other people booking their holiday here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waaslandwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This B&B is well located: close to the lovely town of Uzes and daytrips are possible to Pont du Gare, Avignon, Arles and Nimes. It has got potential but the owners should step up their standards. The room and bathroom were not very clean (dust on every ridge proofs that it has not been cleaned well recently), the covers of the sofa in the common room look like they have not been washed in years, the sheets and towels are old and warn out, beds are not made / towels are not replaced / room is not cleaned during your stay. The evening meal (tables d'hotes) was "average". Breakfast was basic (croissants, bread, jam) - no yoghurt, fruits, ...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbernaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We could not have had a better 5 night stay here. Our family of 4 had a very large family suite- an entire floor to ourselves located above the communal breakfast room. It consisted of an enormous bathroom, a cozy and adorable kids bedroom, opening onto an extra room with table and chairs and space to play, and a lovely master bedroom with a door opening onto the most divine private terrace. The views of a vineyard from the terrace were spectacular, the garden beautiful: the arbor of roses, the climbing roses along our terrace, the small fountain with goldfish and water lilies, the typical "mas" arrangement of a family of farm houses next to each other to create the feel of a cozy village in the middle of the countryside. As others have mentioned the mas is close to the main road to Uzes, but luckily you really don't notice it when within the grounds of the mas. A small kitchen is available for guest use. We were in such heaven that it was easy to overlook some of the idiosyncrasies of being in an old house: sink faucets with separate hot & cold, the tub/shower in our room was for being seated only (no tiles on the wall, and obviously no curtain either). These items are normally dealbreakers for me, but somehow at this B&B we were too happy to notice. We would go back in a heartbeat, and will swoon over it while we are away. While we were there the owner had taken on additional help to run the place. So maybe some of the concerns from other reviewers are fixed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ackerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The place is perfect; an old Mas, minutes away from the center of Uzes, full of character and with an amazing potential.
The area is not great but this is not a problem; once you pass the door you are in another world! (The busy road passes near by but you cannot see it or hear it!)
Unfortunately the owner was not there and we were welcomed by a friend of hers; we stayed one night and we never met her but it is obvious from the work that has been done in the Mas that she is a lady of character and very good taste!!!
We were hoping to use the pool but on top of being really dirty and "abadoned" we could even figure out the way to enter the pool area, (in any case we were not going to use it as it was not clean)
The rooms were decorated with very good taste but were not particularily clean (we did see the spiders!)
Breakfast was of a good standard (it could have been better) and the room that we had breakfast was very nice.
The idea of providing the little kitchen to the guests is very good.
We had reserved for the table d'hôtes but they had forgotten about it and we were adviced to have dinner at a restaurant in the center of Uzes which was ....closed that day!
In conclusion; this place could be great; the potential is there but it should be run in a very different way.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandoTarnFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Toutbonheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uzes hotels
3.7 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Uzes Pont Du Gard
1.5 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 13 in Uzes
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hostellerie Provencale
3.1 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
422 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#4 of 13 in Uzes
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas du Lac

Address: Chemin du Mas de Rey, 30700, Uzes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Uzes
Price Range: $99 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing