We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau La Tour Apollinaire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perpignan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau La Tour Apollinaire
Ranked #5 of 21 Perpignan B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much but once you drive through the gates you realize you've found a treasure. Located near old Perpignan (a 5 minute drive or a long walk), the Chateau allows families to escape the business of the city relax in a charming and nicely appointed apartment or by the pool. This was the perfect combination of private residence and hotel for our family -- we could cook in our kitchen or have breakfast at our little table outside or we could order hotel breakfast.
The staff was lovely and helpful. They also have a huge DVD library so our jet-lagged kids could watch movies in the evenings.
Perpignan is an ideal location for visiting southwest France's beaches, towns and mountains -- and even for driving to Barcelona for the day, as we did. We want to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just enjoyed another wonderful stay in the Tower at La Tour. We love returning every year for our annual top up of sunshine.

Reading some of the other reviews, be aware that the chateau is not a hotel, and does not offer hotel services. Rather, expect a lovely home-away-from-home. We always enjoy the soft bath towels, toiletries, complementary coffee and tea, cooking pans, utensils, dishes, glassware etc. There are several excellent food markets within walking distance (and will deliver), the closest being a five-minute walk. The living rooms are huge, bright and airy, with comfortable seating, a home cinema system, stereo and free WIFI which we use extensively for our work. While the rooms do not have television, the owners offer an amazing selection of DVD's (feel free to talk with Elena about your film selection – her knowledge of films is encyclopedic) The La Tour apartment has a dishwasher and washer/drier for linens, towels and clothes, so we can come for a week or two at a time and be independent.

Besides the spacious rooms, elegant decor, luscious gardens and warm hospitality, what always impresses us is the combination of historical preservation and support of the Arts the owners bring to La Tour. Original paintings by La Tour's artist-in-residence and others fill the common areas and some private rooms (a striking painting hangs in the entrance). Additionally, in the evenings, visitors returning to the chateau may be greeted by the sound of mellow jazz from Robin who, himself is an accomplished pianist.

If you want a home away from home with all the comforts, then you will love this place.

Room Tip: Choose the Tower (single bedroom) for private kitchen and living room, best views and lovely terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nytraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The LA Tour apartment is spacious and comfortable. The gardens are really beautiful and very peaceful. The area we stayed in is unfortunately quite run down and perhaps not quite what I expected. I think if you are traveling through Perpignan and are tired of small hotel rooms and eating out this is a good option. I do though think the La Tour apartment is overpriced , but there are other apartments at a more reasonable price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelinejec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The advertising for this 'Hotel' is misleading, it is a self catering apartment in an old Chateau, which is really just an old house. The welcome was very good and the receptionist was very helpful BUT the minuses outweigh the pluses. The area is residential and just off a main road, ten minutes walk from the main centre of town. A big plus is the quiet and the lovely surroundings with the pool etc. The secluded gardens keep out the wind and give a good privacy for the pool. Our stay we had an 'apartment' to ourselves and the kitchen had a small bottle of milk and a few tea bags and coffee free, everything else in the fridge 'mini bar' was chargeable. If you are only staying a few days then you end up buying a whole load of stuff you can't use up. Breakfast can be provided at 15€ per person. There is no TV and an entertainment DVD is 5€ each day rental. The list of DVD films is impressive but with no precis of the content, unless you recognise the film it's a big guess if you will like the film or not.
The advertised luxury bathrooms (at least the Champagne room) are nothing of the sort and can be routinely found in Chambre D'Hotes elsewhere in France. The rooms themselves are a mixture of old French and modern furniture none of it matching. Most of the woodwork showed its age with chipped paint and missing door furniture. The terrible plastic sheet on the bed was a nightmare of rustling and sweating nights. Sounded as though we were sleeping on a polythene groundsheet. This room has no air conditioning so might be a problem in high summer although the room is shaded to a degree by the gardens. There is no maid service so the bed is not made up (except at extra charge) and no towels are changed either. It's very definitely a DIY self catering holiday and we expected more for the £ 100 per night we were charged.
Perpignan is a typical southern French town and has its fair share of drunks visible at all hours of the day or night. The town centre has a very good selection of restaurants and Bistro's which serve quite good quality food. It is a good centre for visiting the general area and is a few Km from the beach and an easy (and cheap) train ride to the Pyrenees. The train station is about 30mins brisk walk from the Chateau or 15 mins from town centre.
There is a bus service to and from the airport which is a lot cheaper than the 20€ taxi fare into the town centre.
We also took the opportunity to look at some of the other popular hotels Novotel, Ibis, etc and some other traditional ones in the town centre. The Novotel is next to the theatre and could suffer from noise late at night. The Ibis is on a very busy main road and the front rooms will suffer from traffic noises. The 2 & 3* hotels in the town centre seemed like any other French town hotels and seem to provide quite good value for money in comparison.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motienko, Owner at Chateau La Tour Apollinaire, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
First of all, we would like to thank this guest for posting the review as we always welcome guests comments, good as well as bad, as the feedback helps us to improve our services. We were rather disappointed to read it though as our guests seemed very happy during their 3 nights stay and have never said a word from above to us. So many things can be easily dealt with immediately; it’s just a question of communication.

La Tour Apollinaire is not a hotel, it is a B&B/self-catering apartments (and we don’t advertise it otherwise), and it’s strange for us to read about “misleading advertising for this hotel” in a review posted in Bed and Breakfast section. These guests have paid 108 euros (about 86 pounds) per night for a standard room and for this price have enjoyed a whole apartment for their private use with a big salon and a fully equipped kitchen (not to mention free WiFi and access to the heated swimming pool which they seemed to enjoy a lot). We indeed provide complimentary tea, coffee and milk to make our guests feel more welcome. There is a mini bar in every apartment filled with soft drinks, beers, water, champagne and delicious local wines and these things are indeed “chargeable”(and more than reasonably priced), we are not sure how realistic the expectation of a free mini-bar is... as well as the complaint about having to buy your own food...

We have a home cinema system in every apartment and a big DVD collection of about 500 movies which we keep up to date with a selection of the latest best films: the list is 40 pages long and if we were to add a description for every movie one wouldn’t be able to get through the first page. We are always happy to offer advice (which was never asked for) to help our guests to choose – we are passionate about cinema and have seen every single film on our list.
The plastic under sheet issue was dealt with as soon as we read this comment – we have checked every single bed in the chateau now and can confirm all under sheets are comfortable and noiseless. The guest could have mentioned this issue on the first morning and it would have been dealt with immediately.

Every room in the chateau is decorated differently (we have rooms with four-poster beds as well as very modern looking ones) and you won’t find two identical rooms/bathrooms, as we wanted to offer different styles for different tastes of our guests. The chateau is over a century old and while we constantly do maintenance to ensure its immaculate state, admittedly some signs of old age keep showing now and then. The walls are very thick and the rooms keep cool even in the summer heat. For those who absolutely insist on air-conditioning we have air-conditioned rooms on the second floor.

We are very sorry to hear our guests left dissatisfied, but all together, we feel that this review is the result of unrealistic expectations: these guests expected a hotel with its usual amenities and services while having booked a room at a Bed and Breakfast/Self-Catering apartments. We are not trying to compete with Novotel or Ibis, it’s a totally different concept. The philosophy behind our chateau is a peaceful oasis, a home away from home and if this idea appeals to you we invite you to come and experience La Tour Apollinaire for yourself – we are looking forward to welcoming you!

Elena Wood, General Manager and co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Robin & Elana have created one of the very best travel experiences I have ever had. The room is spacious, well-fitted out, clean, fresh & fill of tasteful finishes (love the lighting). Whether you are doing a business trip in Perpignan,or a family getaway, or a weekend getaway for a young couple, you have to experience this place. If you can catch them, try spend some time with Robin & Elana - a great couple whose diverse origins -Robin in South African & Elana is Russian - add a fantastic personal touch to a spectacular spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavedac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Where do I begin? To tell the story of how great a love can be, the sweet love story that is older than the sea, the simple truth about ... my love for this hotel ! A hotel which is so much more than a beautiful chambres d’hotes in the south of France...

From my very first visit (and since then there have been several) it was clear that this was a hotel unlike any other. For both business and pleasure I’ve stayed at scores of five star hotels, but absolutely none with the same warm welcome and attentive service, never over-solicitous yet always friendly. The owners greet you as if you were a guest in their own home - which, in fact, it is. The chateau, built by a baron in the late 1800s, has been lovingly restored and divided into rooms and apartments by Robin and Elena Wood, who have achieved a harmonious blend of ancient and modern. Guests have the option of booking either individual rooms within a suite, which share common amenities, such as spacious salons and state of the art kitchens, or entire apartments. The chateau is so quiet and spacious that it’s entirely possible to spend an entire visit and not encounter other guests or any noise at all, other than at breakfast or perhaps downstairs if one is lucky enough to catch Robin and/or his band playing a bit of live jazz.

The first couple of times we stayed at the chateau, we booked the Bacardi room and the Chablis, respectively, for a weekend each time. The first night of each stay, the other room in the apartment was already occupied for the night, which meant that we had the chance to meet - even if briefly - other guests, in passing in either the salon or kitchen. I found each time the guests to be extremely pleasant, and we even ended up sharing the wine, cheese and charcuterie that we had all picked up during our stay. So even with other guests sharing the (truly VAST) apartments, complete with cathedral ceilings and well-spaced bedrooms (all with ensuite bathrooms), the atmosphere remained wonderfully convivial, while still preserving each party’s privacy.

For our last visit we booked an apartment all to ourselves. The self-catering aspect of the accommodations is wonderful, and although there is an enormous selection of restaurants in the area, as well as places happy to provide take-away service, we’ve always preferred to prepare our meals in the chateau, having drinks and dinner in the dining area or on one of the terraces, looking over terracotta rooftops against a romantic sunset backdrop or with the snow-topped Canigou in the distance. And waking up to the sound of church bells pealing in the distance as the sunlight streams in through the curtains and across the beams in the ceiling overhead ... total bliss. Just like every stay at La Tour Apollinaire.

Each time is in many ways a bit like coming home or visiting close friends, because - and this is true for each of our visits - Elena and Robin are always there for us - from that one little thing we forgot to pick up before the shops closed, to borrowing an electric hand mixer, to being there, even as a shoulder to cry on or to raise a celebratory glass of wine (or two)...

It’s not only the gorgeous grounds and the lovely interiors, but also - and most importantly - the welcome that makes this luxury hotel such a rare and wonderful find. We have stayed in luxury five-star hotels all over the globe, but this is the only place that feels like home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have been at Chateau la Tour 3 times and absolutely enjoyed it. The house is large and beautiful, has lots of character, all apartments we stayed in are elegantly furnished and decorated, all have high quality bed linen and towels, some have views over the charming garden and that one on the top floor has a fantastic panoramic view over the mountains! We loved very much the garden with blooming flowers and orange trees in all seasons (each time something was blossoming!) and the swimming pool in summer. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, really charming people, speak 3-4 languages, always advise us on what to see and where to eat and have one of the best DVD collections I've ever seen! Definitely going to stay in this lovely hotel again!

Room Tip: The top floor apartment has great views, the ground floor apartment has a fantastic antique-style ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perpignan hotels
0.8 mi away
Nyx Hotel
Nyx Hotel
#1 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De La Loge
Hotel De La Loge
#9 of 46 in Perpignan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Villa Duflot
La Villa Duflot
#3 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Perpignan Mediterranee
2.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Perpignan St Charles
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Centre del Mon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Tour Apollinaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Tour Apollinaire

Property: Chateau La Tour Apollinaire
Address: 15 rue Guillaume Apollinaire, 66000, Perpignan, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Perpignan
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Perpignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau La Tour Apollinaire 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury apartments and rooms in exotic gardens with pool. 5 mins from Perpignan centre and airport. Boutique self-catering hotel with breakfast & private dining available on request. Each apt features home cinema, wi-fi and internet access, living room, designer kitchen & dining room. Queen size and 4 poster beds. Corporate enquiries welcome for events and large groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau La Tour Apollinaire Hotel Perpignan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing