We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant - recommended to all”

Le Grand Cafe La Paix
Ranked #123 of 513 Restaurants in Perpignan
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - recommended to all”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Located at the end of Perpignan's pedestrian area amongst a number of other restaurants, this one has a reasonably priced menu, pleasant and professional waiting staff, and great quality food and drink. The pavement seating on a warm summer's evening also added to the pleasant atmosphere. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    88
    27
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this restaurant after walking through the town centre, there were limited restaurants open on a Sunday evening out of season but this one had a good choice of menu. The restaurant was busy with locals, which is always a good sign. The service was good and the food excellent, so much so we went back for a second night to sample more of the menu. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the monkfish was excellent, with a good range of wines on offer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marshasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centre Restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Probably our second choice restauant in Perpignan.
Food is always fresh and reasonably priced. Good location in the centre of the shopping area in Perpignan.
While the food is always first class it does not seem to have a signature dish which you would go back for time and time again-see my review of Cafe Vienne.
While I love Spanish tapas the French version this retaurant offers consists mainly of different types of cold meat.
The building itself is very interesting and the ambience is good.
Highly recommended.
John

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM YUM DUCK!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were so happy to find this little gem! We both had duck and it was so good! The service was prompt and very friendly and we would recommend this place to anyone!
ENJOY!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing food and a great place to sit out and relax”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Perpignan seeing it as anice location on a busy square. We originally stopped for a drink and ended up staying for dinner. We had two great bottles of local wine - quite a large mark up but no different from the price of a bottle in a UK restaurant. We had the three course set meal for 25 euros each and it was divine. Foie Gras for starter followed by a baeutiful rack of lamb crusted with pesto and the nicest new potatoes i've ever had and good sized portions. Pudding was a huge rich chocolate mousse with cream and a coffee flavoured meringue. Amazing and friendly staff made a great night for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe La Paix also viewed

Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe La Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing