We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Narbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for ten nights. The hotel is in a lovely situation next to the canal. Although we had a hire car it is easy to walk into Narbonne from here; the train station is nearby We experienced zero noise from other guests, the rooms are large, so too are the very comfortable beds. The balcony was a real asset, we enjoyed the occasional evening meal during superb weather. A couple of negatives; no curtains to the windows just wooden blinds; if you are sensitive to early morning light then an eye mask is a must. The balconies are wooden decking, unless you are on the top floor I could see the potential danger of someone spilling a hot drink for it to percolate to the balcony below and maybe injure another guest?

These things would not deter from staying again. This hotel is truly a peach of a place to stay;
the beautiful surroundings and the freshness of a relatively new building. Thanks to the helpful and friendly staff for their contribution to our fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 481 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

This a really attractive place to stay in Narbonne. The quiet canal-side setting is lovely, it incorporates an old mill on a river, there is a rather complicated canal/river junction, and there is a small park just beside it. We had a large room, with well-equpped cooking facilities, wifi, a/con, TV etc etc a small balcony with canal view. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Breakfast is served in the Brasserie Flo which is in the old mill part, we also ate there one night, it is integrated with the hotel, although if you eat there, apart from breakfast, you pay separately.
We didn't have a car so walked from the railway station, about 25 minutes, half along the canal, quite possible if you don't have too much to carry. To get to town centre you just walk along the canal and there you are, it is impossible to get lost. Narbonne is lovely, with a particularly good food market, and is not overrun by tourists.
The atmosphere was very tranquil in this well appointed hotel, it was very hard to tell how busy they were, I think they were busy, there was a bus parked outside at one point, but it always seemed very calm.
Highly recommended, and a bit different.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views, I don't think it would make much difference which one you are in.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

If you want a well-appointed hotel off the beaten path in Narbonne, consider the Clarion Suites. The setting on the canal is lovely with a beautiful park at the doorstep. The owner and staff are friendly and extremely responsive, with generally a strong command of English. They go out of their way to help there guests with any issue that arises. The owner even went so far as to pick up our friend who was lost within the city and take her to her destination. It's located only 15 minutes walking along the canal to the city center, offering a great combination of a quiet, beautiful setting with easy access to the city. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobKatUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really an excellent place to stay. Our room had a large patio, large comfortable bed, great bathroom, plenty of outlets for charging, quiet, and all very new. When we were there the place was nearly full but we never felt staff was stressed in any way. In fact I would rate staff number 1 of any place we have stayed at in the last year!
The hotel is an easy 20 minute walk from city center, to get there you go through a little park and follow the canal into the city. The hotel is on an old mill site which I believe is a Unesco site.
Say hi to Valarie the owner she was a great help in solving our travel problems

Room Tip: Pool looks nice but did not have a chance to use it Restaurant has a great lunch
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The architecture here is a bit like waking up in a Malaysian forrest. The front of the building is slatted wood, and OK if you don't need darkness to sleep. The concrete structure makes for transfer of noise, and some carpets and curtains might deaden things a bit. That aside, the rooms are very comfortable and well equipped, and with wi fi and parking included, a great deal. Narbonne is a bit short on comfortable lodgings, and these appartment/suites certainly are a welcome sight, and are only 15 minutes canalside walk to the historic centre (try the great atmosphere of the 'En Face' restaurant, 100metres pat the cathedral on the canal). If travelling down to Spain, Narbonne makes a very interesting stop off in a real town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is an interesting facility located outside of the center of Narbonne on the Canal du Midi. The setting is attractive enhanced by the rush of falling water, and the plane trees lining the canal. The room is large, and most appear to have large covered decks with views of the canal. Our room had a Jacuzzi, and a very modern shower with complicated controls that I had some difficulty manipulating. We had a large king size firm bed. The room was very quiet at night. There didn't appear to be many guests at the hotel which has as most "suites" a kitchen facility. On balance the perfect stopover for our trip from Spain to Nice.
We were asked if we wanted breakfast the next morning, and we decided to take it as we were not within walking distance of a cafe. The center of town is about 20 minutes away by foot. Breakfast proved to be a disappointment. The fruit was canned, the croissants industrialized (margarine verses butter), the ham and cheese packaged,etc. They charged us 15 euros per person. We were the only people in the breakfast room. I had the feeling that were were the only customers for the day, and the staff had taken a quick trip to Casino to cover us. We had a somewhat similar experience at dinner. Brasserie Flo a highly regarded restaurant maintains a lovely looking facility as part of the hotel in an attached old building. I ordered the salad gesier (not bad), and my wife and I both had the sole. At 27 euros a plate it was at best disappointing. The was one other person in the restaurant.
My advice: if you need a stopover in this part of France try the Ile Du Gua, but avoid the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vesenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked in to the Clarion Suites for 1 night's treat to celebrate a birthday. It is in a charming situation overlooking the Canal du Midi . We had a wonderful meal at the Moulin du Gua restaurant attached to the hotel.
Although it was very quiet and the weather was horrible we had a great rest. The rooms all overlook the pretty gardens and river and the jacussi in our room was fun!
We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narbonne hotels
0.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#2 of 22 in Narbonne
385 reviews
6.0 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#3 of 22 in Narbonne
174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Narbonne Sud
Novotel Narbonne Sud
#13 of 22 in Narbonne
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brit Hotel Plaisance
Brit Hotel Plaisance
#8 of 22 in Narbonne
151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Campanile Narbonne
Campanile Narbonne
#11 of 22 in Narbonne
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Narbonne
Ibis Narbonne
#10 of 22 in Narbonne
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua

Address: 28 rue de l Aude, 11100, Narbonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Narbonne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Narbonne
Price Range: $128 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing