We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, spacious room and welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Nimes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Used Booking.com to find a room in Nimes. Was in our price range. Had a spacious room for the three of us. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Excellent location, just across from the Arena. Beautiful site in the evening with the lights of the Arena! Only suggestion I have would be an update to the shower. Had a refrigerator for the things in our cooler. Breakfast was great, lots of choices. If we visit Nimes again, would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 306 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

We arrived after a very long and full day in Nimes only to find out that the annual Feria was full blown into its second day of the week and our hotel Appart'Hotel Le Cheval Blanc was right in the center of it all - and the police didn’t want to let us through ! After lots of negotiations a friendly young Frenchman got into our car and directed us via a back road past the barricades to get to our hotel in the middle of it all - right across from the Nimes Roman arena where the bullfights take place ! The hotel gave us a ringside seat to all the action.....

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the arena
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I along with another couple stayed here recently for a night on our way to nearby Bellgarde to pick up a boat we had rented for a week of canal cruising. The hotel is in the city center directly across the street from the arena. It makes a spectacular site to see when walking out the hotel's front door. The price was reasonable for four people, and the service was above and beyond the call. Our room was on the top floor and with four people in the midst of an extended stay in France, we had quite a bit of baggage. There is only one elevator, and it is typical of most in Europe - not very roomy. The young lady behind the desk, Selene (I think, not positive) took it upon herself to haul some of our baggage up the four flights of stairs herself without a second thought. We had to practically force her to take a few euros for her trouble.

The rooms are nice, minimal in style but ours was rather spacious and nicely appointed. One double bed that was quite comfy and two fold-out twins that were the most comfortable fold-outs I have ever slept in. Be sure to request a room with a view of the arena - we did not and were on the opposite side. Only things keeping the review from being five stars are the room's AC was not working well and the lack of a shower curtain/glass means the bathroom is rather wet after a shower. Be careful getting out.

Also, very good pizza place on the opposite side of the arena from the hotel, Brassierie Des 3 Maures.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have views of the arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikemandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days on a road trip to Italy and wouldn't stay again!
It was very difficult to find, despite being in the city centre! and we had to park the car in an expensive local car park for our 4 nights!
It's in an old, unusual building, overlooking the Amphitheatre, but our room faced the rear. It was quiet, but the bed was so low it felt like a futon on stumps! Our bathroom had no shower curtain or screen, so leaked everywhere and the towels just weren't up to much!
The breakfast was adequate and the staff had great English and couldn't do enough for you, but all in all it was a big disappointment, when compared to what was written about it and we'd never stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour John,

Nous regrettons que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre séjour au sein de notre hôtel.
Il est en effet situé en plein centre de la ville, face aux arènes et il est vrai que quelques fois cela est mal indiqué pour s'y rendre en voiture, cependant, sur notre site internet il y a le lien pour calculer votre itinéraire.

Concernant vos autres remarques il ne fallait pas hésiter à le signaler à l'accueil afin que la situation soit résolue.

Cordialement
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

You come here for one thing. The view. Go to sleep with the most well preserved Roman amphitheatre outside your window. The view of it just before it gets dark, believe me, is breathtaking.

Rooms are modern and spacious, with kitchen facilities snuggly hidden in a cabinet. Huge bed, for the room I had too, although the pillows were much too soft. Would be great if the hotel could look into that.

As for the staff, lovely service. Very accommodating and patient. It quite completes the experience of Nimes as a serene, clean, and welcoming small city. In my case, it fully recharged me for the subsequent hectic visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Not too sure, but there might be rooms that DO NOT face the front i.e. the Arena. Be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScribblingGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed with my parents. It is near the train station and center. The room is big for the price. There is a big big window which can show the beautiful view! The reception is nice also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivi_France2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cheval Blanc for 5 nights. The building is a typical European hotel that has been updated. What sets this hotel apart from others is the wonderful staff. They are always very accommodating and will always help you. It is very close to restaurants and shops, plus the Arena is right across the street. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous tenons tout d'abord à vous remercier d'avoir choisi notre hôtel pour votre séjour et d'avoir pris quelques minutes afin de partager votre avis avec la communauté Tripadvisor.
Nous ne manquerons pas de féliciter votre personnel pour son accueil.

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir de nouveau
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Nimes Gare Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marquis de la Baume
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Nimes Ouest
Kyriad Nimes Ouest
#12 of 36 in Nimes
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc

Address: 1 Place des Arenes, 30000 Nimes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Nimes
Price Range: $73 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Cheval Blanc Hotel Nimes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing