We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
Review of Hotel le Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel le Majestic
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Nimes
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Disappointed. Room was very basic and next to the communal toilets so noisy. And they asked us to check out at 10am. Won't be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasea72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
52
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Came here for a short getaway, seemed like a nice place close to town. Turned out to be rundown and pretty awful. Bed was rock hard, A/C barely worked, safe didn't open. The shower was filthy with blocked plug, and had a curtain that only covered one side (read: water everywhere!). Breakfast was also a disappointment, stale croissants and some breads, bitter coffee. Young staff were nice, friendly, but guessing most were holiday workers. In general, I would avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid. There are better places to stay for the price. If you have to, dont' take a room above 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aelver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it ! Warm welcome and also friendly staff, superbe !
Room nr 2 very nice and decorated " the provence "way = charming way and very clean !
In walking distance of the Arena .....
Personnel accueillant et chambre et petit dejeuner , c'est parfait !
Back in Nimes , I would stay here again ! J'y retournerais .... ;o))
Frank Van Damme (reserve par Golicz). Temse / Belgique.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VANDAMMEKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights during the Great Roman Games Festival (Les Grands Jeux Romains) and to tour around the Camargue and the Pont du Gard. The hotel was easy to find and had a small garage to park our car (for a small charge) just across the street. The reception was welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable, not very flashy. Our only complaint was that there was a slight smokey smell in the room, despite being listed as non-smoking room. We left the windows open and the smell went away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at le Majestic in October whilst on a wine tour of Southern Rhone. The hotel is well placed for the station and is a five minute walk from the amphitheatre and the main parts of town. Young English people on the staff made life easy for us and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel were happy for us to bring food and wine in at lunchtime and to eat it in the courtyard - even providing paltes and cutlery. The rooms were pleasant and decorated in an bright and colourful way. WiFi (which worked in our room as well as the lobby) was a bonus. All in all, a very nice and inexpensive little hotel which was ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeamasterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in mid-October. We chose it because we wanted to stop in Nimes one night and we did not want to spend much, plus this place had parking and the location seemed decent, so this looked like a good value. If value is the main decision maker for you, then you may be OK with this hotel.

First the good:
1. Proximity to sights - even though it is not in the nicest neighborhood, it was a few blocks from the arena and around a 20 minute walk to other sights (Maison Carree, Jardin de la fountaine,...).
2. Room was clean, bathroom ample.
3. Parking available by reservation and across the street from hotel (not free, but reasonably priced).
4. Personnel at the service desk was very polite and friendly.

Now the bad:
1. The hotel is NOT in a nice neighborhood and the immediate surronding area looks shady.
2. The hotel inside is not much better than the exterior. The light in our corridor did not even work and the decor in the hotel and rooms was old and ugly.
3. The walls are thin as paper... we could hear very loudly the guest next to our room coughing up a storm.
4. The WiFi did not work in our room and we were just one floor up from the lobby.

Overall, this is a 2 star hotel with 2 star facilities and I would have preferred to pay a bit more and get a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

In a quiet location close to the centre of town, the hotel is quirky and chaming, clean and comfortable and very good value for money. The reception / breakfast staff were particularly helpful. The night after I left I was in the Novotel Lyon Gerland at over twice the price and I wished I was back at the Majestic!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cesar
Hotel Cesar
#13 of 37 in Nimes
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
0.3 mi away
Acanthe du Temple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Tuileries
Hotel des Tuileries
#6 of 37 in Nimes
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abalone
Hotel Abalone
#25 of 37 in Nimes
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Majestic

Property: Hotel le Majestic
Address: 10 rue Pradier, 30000 Nimes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nimes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Majestic 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel le Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Majestic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing