We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Beautiful, excellent service, terrible management”
Review of Jardins Secrets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jardins Secrets
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

A Beautiful hotel in a must-see "ancient" city! The service was awsome, family like, the breakfast service was remarkable! The only downside was the hotel owners, somewhat rude, mostly with the employees (without no reason, apparently!), and on checkout when we were giving a tip to the kind lady that served us during our stay I noticed that the hotel owner asked for the money when we were leaving, very low class attitude!!! But still as place to visit for sure!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PauloTreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Jardins Secrets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was without exception the most romantic, special hotel I've ever stayed in, and the welcome from the helpful staff was exceptional. The room we were in was a tad dark, but we viewed many others that had become vacant by the end of our stay that were charming and very light. Unexpectedly quiet in a city courtyard, the pool is small but lovely and I ame determined to return. The spa treatments were a shock to the wallet - I forgot to ask before I booked! - but fantastic local restaurants were remarkably inexpensive thanks to the advice of the hotel manager.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanAC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel several times and we always enjoyed the location and the style of this place. However, we always thought that the owner was charging too much. This time, we stayed there and we booked a suite for three of us. The owner put an extra bed in the same room for our daughter of 15 and we had the breakfast in the morning. All was fine until we did the check-out where I got the bill of 560 euros for one night and we noticed that we paid 25 euros per person for a very small breakfast (cup of tea, a couple of croissants, orange juice and bread ) and also 10 euros for 2 slices of ham that the owner proposed without saying that it was going to be charged. We also paid 50 euros for the extra bed which was very small and not really comfortable for our daughter of 15. Conclusion: given the fact that we were staying at this hotel during the low season and the hotel was not fully booked, we really think that it is far too expensive for just one night stay. Indeed, when we book a Suite, we normally don't expect to pay for an extra bed. We are just very disappointed to see that they even make you play two slices of ham. It is just greedy and not commercial considering we have been staying there for more than 5 times.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank j1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Having noted the wide discrepancies in previous travellers' reviews, from 'terrible' to 'excellent', we were not quite sure what to expect here. In the event, it suited us well. The house is beautiful, the garden exquisite, and the owners (husband and wife) full of charm. We can see why some reviewers (notably those from the US) had reservations; it is more like a charming guest house than a modern, plastic hotel. Some of the furnishings and fittings are quirky, the lighting in the bedrooms is very low and difficult to read by, and there are no menus or price lists. A bottleof white wine a good-ish (Pouilly Fume) turned out to have cost 40 euros when we paid our final bill. Room prices are undoubtedly high, so it scores low on the value-for-money scale, but we did not regret our investment. and enjoyed our stay up to the moment we checked out.

Our particular problem was that we handed over our car for what we were told was 'secure parking' (at 20 euros per night), and it was returned as we checked out with £1000 worth of damage ... deliberate scratches all down one side. We only realised at that point that the 'secure parking' was just some booked spaces in a nearby public parking lot, which the hotel was buying at a very favourable rate and then selling on to customers at a significant profit (although - to be fair - they were willing to go and fetch the car whenever it was required).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scholar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We visited in August, 2010. While the property is unique, the service is an issue. We requested a separate shower for an upcharge of 100 Euros/day. Room didnt have shower and we has to argue for correct rate, which was finally given. There are no ice machines. I asked for some ice for my wife. Found out on checkout it cost 25 Euros for some ice. But, other than that, rooms are beautiful and setting is attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMLS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We started our holiday of three destinations at this hotel and I have to say it is beautiful. I loved the garden, the pool, the cats, the way the hotel was decorated; in fact so many things. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, with the exception of the manageress and this is my main reason for writing this review; to alert people to the rather hidden price list. If you are offered a cancellation room, make sure you are told the extra cost because there will be one and you maybe surprised how much. Likewise, breakfast is a really wonderful experience as is afternoon tea and the cold drinks, but do budget for them because even if you ask there is a reluctance to state the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anji_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

On the plus side, Le Jardins Secrets is a beautiful place to stay, filled with 17th and 18th c antiques and art. The room was lovely and the breakfasts were well presented, with great home-made jams (like rose-petal, violet and jasmine) and served in the garden or inside if not warm enough. Everyone was very courteous and friendly and it was worth the 295 euros per night (for twin room) just to be able to sit in every room, each one a treasure trove of great pieces. On the downside, the parking was 40 euros per day - we were not told this was an extra cost and all other places we stayed in, inc. the parking. Secondly, we had a glass of champagne each one evening and were charged 20 euros per glass!!!! This seems a little excessive as I have never paid this much for a glass of champagne anywhere, not even Paris and it wasn't Dom Perignon. When we enquired as to why it was so expensive, the owner said they were big glasses (they were normal size champagne glasses). However, these two costs did not spoil what was otherwise a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julieanne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
3.3 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 36 in Nimes
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imperator
Hotel Imperator
#10 of 36 in Nimes
417 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vatel Hotel & Spa
Vatel Hotel & Spa
#11 of 36 in Nimes
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Nimes Ouest
Ibis Nimes Ouest
#4 of 36 in Nimes
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardins Secrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardins Secrets

Address: 3 rue Gaston Maruejols, 30000 Nimes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nimes
Price Range: $288 - $1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jardins Secrets 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jardins Secrets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins Secrets Hotel Nimes
Jardins Secrets nîmes
Jardins Secrets Hotel nîmes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing