We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel in Europe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nimes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nimes Auberge de Jeunesse
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Nimes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I intended to stay at the hostel in Nimes for a couple of nights and ended up spending three months there. I had stayed at ten other french hostels and was telling another guest there how I thought this one was head and shoulders above all the rest. He told me that he had been to pretty much all the notable hostels in Europe and that Nimes was indeed the best, by a long way. He had lived at the Nimes hostel for ten years. The terrace at night is amazing and the staff and regular guests really make everyone welcome, particularly if you are travelling alone. Great food at a low price, clean and with good facilities. The staff really go out of their way to help, unless it is extremely busy. However, if you are thinking of going there as a cheap alternative to a hotel, go with a backpacker's mentality and don't complain needlessly (I only heard a couple of complaints in three months there and it was always from unreasonable guests).

Exceptional.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and all good. I prefer to camp in the garden for privacy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Don't listen to the negative reviewer before me. The hill isn't that steep and it takes 10 minutes not 20. They're just lazy!

The hostel staff were excellent encouraging everyone to be social and being really helpful etc.

The hostel has a main building with reception etc and then a campsite an building blocks for dorm rooms (4 to a room).

When I stayed there was no issue with cleanliness or hygiene.

There's a supermarket at the bottom
Of the hill so we were able to buy and cook food easily.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

we stayed in double room, the cojoined villa/houses where you share bathroom with 1 ajoining room.
Warden Andy was very helpful. Some stoves in kitchen did not operate. Easy to cook food, then sit in garden terrace to eat - very plesant. Easy parking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I haven`t been at many hostels but this have been best i have ever seen.
+Great stuff, Manager is from UK and some from the stuff speak Spain.
+Great bar. We had there great party with our drinks and bottle coolers from the barman. Really economic ;-) he also played the music we ordered without any hesitation. Later they turned off lights and turned on disco ball and disco lights, so we also had there disco with our drinks. Just until 01:00, quite early for us...But still great.
+Nature... the area of the hostel is great it is full of trees and flowers with playground and fountain. With nice places where to disappear with a girl.
+Rooms ...were very clean and big. No complain about them.
+bathrooms... always clean but just 4 toilets and 4 showers for one floor
+Dinners... delicious dinners for good price. BUT... breakfast was really(!) poor. Also pic-nic pack. Rather buy some food in the town. But not dinners, they wear really tasty.
+free wifi

-Location.. In rural area 20 min from the town 30 min from the centre by foot. What can be advance if you are looking for quiet green hostel.
-Security??? One of us have been robed 50Eur from the wallet. :/ I cannot blame hostel for this. They have cameras outside and locking cabinets in room. But still, be careful!

Funny story: Once we wake up with one franc girl in our full room after one hard party in the hostel bar :) No memories...

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkZebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

i stay regulary at this hostel , Staff are very frienfly and helpful , rooms are clean , though fairly basic ,showers are always hot , there is a kitchen ,with use of fridge and freezzer ,a great place to meet people , at 32 euros a night for a twin bedded room it is good value for money , pity about the climb up the hill to reach the hostel after the bus drops you off
bobgeddes@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbysox66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Justinetinamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Nimes Centre Gare
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Tuileries
Hotel des Tuileries
#7 of 36 in Nimes
308 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
1.7 mi away
Vatel Hotel & Spa
Vatel Hotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Nimes
275 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#4 of 36 in Nimes
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimes Auberge de Jeunesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimes Auberge de Jeunesse

Address: 257 Chemin L Auberge de la Jeunesse, Nimes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Nimes
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing