We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst restaurant in france (!)”
Review of La Grande Bourse

La Grande Bourse
Ranked #391 of 552 Restaurants in Nimes
Cuisines: French
Description: Situated right next to the Arena.
Restaurant details
Description: Situated right next to the Arena.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the worst restaurant in france (!)”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conveniently located and with the naïve believe that all French restaurants in Provence area are at least decent if not brilliant, a family of three decided to try out this restaurant –and what a mistake! Three glasses of coke Zero was flat and, may I add, half filled with water, and when my brother went to get another one they poured new coke from a big old bottle. But that’s not all – they actually thought they could get away with only serving one new coke and not all three. Not a good sign. Food was just as bad. Got the tuna steak and it was dry and all cooked through; tuna from a can would have tasted better! Salad with salmon was boring and didn’t taste fresh.

What this restaurant is doing to the brand of the French cuisine is a disgrace.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeLeaveMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    26
    36
    36
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good, economical meal and excellent service.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just eaten at La Grande Bourse and I couldn't disagree more with most of the reviews posted here. For a Friday night the restaurant seemed quiet, but we had prompt, efficient, helpful and courteous service from Frederick. He explained the items on the menu very patiently as our French is so bad,and brought our food at just the right time. The food was really good too - my steak was done just a tad more than the 'rare' I'd asked for and the apricot pudding was delicious (could have done without the piped cream on it though) and my husband also thoroughly enjoyed his tuna steak and chocolate pudding. A great setting just by the Arena, plenty to watch in a very pleasant environment. And much cheaper than we have paid elsewhere. We would definitely visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Amazing view, bad service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant is directly across from the arena and the view is stunning. We decided to have drinks here with our kids. After a bit we decided to just eat dinner here as well. Probably should have just kept with the drinks and moved on... Service was incredibly inattentive and slow. We had to hunt down our waiter several times for menus, drinks, water, dessert, check - you name it. The dad in the French family next to us actually got up and went to the bar inside to pay the check. Food was average at best. Tomato salad ok, my husband got a burger - he should have known better and they shouldn't have it on the menu .. Kids were supposed to have dessert included in their meals but after 2+hours we settled up and left. It appeared as if the next door restaurant was related to this restaurant - one of the hosts came over and dropped off bread baskets to a few tables. Perhaps they were just severely understaffed this evening??? If we ever came back it would just be for a glass of wine. The check/receipt says www.la-gande-bourse.com which should read www.la-grand-bourse.com - more lack of attention to details.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dpower3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Costly and uninspired menu”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

La Grande Bourse is situated adjacent to the Arena of Nîmes, providing excellent views of the landmark. Having just toured the arena with family, we stopped for lunch and seated ourselves at an outside table.

We were immediately seen to by a waiter who was very friendly and receptive, and brought our drinks very quickly. We were not terribly inspired by the lunch menu, which offered Hamburgers, Entrecôte and a few other beef and chip dishes, all averaging at about €14 each.

Food did not take long to arrive, however we were brought a wrong dish, so had to wait some time for the correct one to be cooked and changed; whilst the (different) waiter was quick to resolve the issue, he lacked any apology.

The food itself was of good quality but nothing outstanding; the cheeseburger and chips I ordered was tasty, if slightly under-cooked - perhaps due to the previous mix-up.

The toilets, which seemed to be of shared gender were large and modern, but hadn't been attended to for some time, and the cubicles seemed to be swarmed with flies.

Our original waiter returned, and sorted the bill efficiently and with a smile. For a lunch time menu, €70 for one course and drinks for 4 we felt was quite a lot, and didn't match the menu or service we'd received.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramsay_street93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Bourse also viewed

 

Been to La Grande Bourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing