We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but .........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Nimes
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed here at the end of a countyside gite stay . Rooms were comfortable , breakfast fine, location well placed for airport and city of Nimes.
The immediate locale, however, is a concern and I would advise tourists to be especially vigilant about personal security and car crime.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luggagecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2007

My husband and I flew to Nimes on Christmas Eve. Prior to this I had been in contact with the Holiday Inn by email and found the staff to be extremely helpful, advising that the restaurant would be closed on 24 December but that Christmas lunch was available the following day.

We arrived at the hotel mid morning where a cleaner let us in and found the Receptionist who checked us in and gave us our key. The hotel is a typical 70's Fortes Posthouse with a lift on the outside of the building (entry via the lobby), and piped music throughout the premises. The lift needed a good vacuum cleaning, as did the corridors. The room was really shabby and dingy, the tea tray hadn't been replenished and the overall impression was one of neglect. We asked at reception for more supplies and were given a jug of chocolate powder but there was no milk available! Determined to enjoy our holiday we caught the bus (which stops outside and even ran on Christmas Day) into the city and enjoyed a lovely lunch in the sunshine in this very pleasant town. Arriving back at the hotel early evening we found that we were locked out and had to be admitted by a porter! We didn't see any other guests throughout our stay but, as the hotel is located about 1.5 miles ouside Nimes, in a vast shopping outlet among other small hotels, that is probably the reason, although it appreared to be the only hotel open in the area.

The lunch served in the hotel restaurant on Christmas Day was superb. The staff were extremely attentive and the restaurant was full. However, the bar was closed so we couldn't have a pre or post lunch drink, nor a drink in the evening.

The following evening my husband had a gastric "bug" (nothing to do with the food) and at midnight I asked Reception for a bottle of water, as our mini bar hadn't been replenished from the previous guests' visit, only to be told that there was some in the tap! I went down to Reception and was, begrudgingly, given a bottle by the man on duty and told that it would be added to our bill - not a problem, but most ungracious under the circumstances.

Overall, we liked Nimes very much but wouldn't recommend this hotel other than its restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rawcliffe Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank CamCam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Virgynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: rien à dire sur le calme, c'est bon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ODEMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel C Suites
Hotel C Suites
#22 of 36 in Nimes
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vatel Hotel & Spa
Vatel Hotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Nimes
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nimes Ouest
Ibis Nimes Ouest
#4 of 36 in Nimes
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
1.4 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
1.9 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 36 in Nimes
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Nimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Nimes

Address: 202 Rue Nicolas, Parc Hotelier Ville Active, 30900 Nimes, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Nimes Petite Camargue)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nimes
Price Range: $81 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Nimes 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Provence and Languedoc, the Hotel Holiday Inn Nimes Petite Camargue, will enable you to have a pleasant stay of leisure or business. You will be able to discover the attractive one quoted of Nimes crossroads of several civilizations, its many Roman monuments, like the Arènes, the Maison Carrée, the Tour Magne and the Jardins de la Fontaine. A little further, Uzès first duchy of France, the Pont du Gard and for greedy the Haribo factory and its museum. Very near to the Méditéranéenne Coast or its beaches and its sun will enchant you, you will have the possibility of visiting Aigues Mortes, the Saintes Marie de la Mer or the Grau du Roi. We offer to you a vast choice of living rooms from 12 to 65 m as well as rooms of congresses from 200 to 800 m entirely flexible and air-conditioned in order to there accomodate your seminars, meetings, congress, cocktail and to dine on official reception to 1000 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel de Nimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nimes Petite Camargue Hotel Nimes
nîmes Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing