We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Arenes de Nimes

Arenes de Nimes
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.54*
and up
Roman Sites in Provence Half-Day Tour from Avignon Including Pont du Gard, Uzès...
Ranked #2 of 54 things to do in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Contemporary of the Colosseum in Rome, the amphitheater of Nîmes is the best preserved amphitheater in the Roman world. The audio-guided tour, available in 10 languages, lets visitors experience the gladiator shows and life in Roman times. The "gladiator's quarter" presents the weapons and techniques of gladiatorial fights.
middletown
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This ampitheater is in great shape and we found the audio guide informative, unlike some of the other reviews. Go to the top to see beautiful views of the top of the city and if your lucky like us a double rainbow. Would have loved to see a show here. Must Go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pueho126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,881
    1,101
    277
    47
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Incredible visit....”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had heard that this ampitheater was in gret shape. It really astounded me how it had managed to be i such great shape. I usually dont' do the audio guide, but did it here and Palais des Papes and it was worth it both times. Certain parts of the arena are in dodgy shape but take the time to get up to the top if you can. It was a very hot day when I was there and I had to do a quick visit, they had a concert booked for that night and the stage was set up in the arena. What an incredible place to watch a show I thought. Who is LMFAO, I asked at the time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

how powerful were the roman, you can think about it when you visit this amazing arena, it is like you are going back in time which is a nice sensation and not to forget they still are doing some shows like corrida, which is so great to see bulls getting killed!

Helpful?
1 Thank lyndas00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Skip the signs, audio guide and just walk around”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Be careful though! I skipped the signs that directs a visit complimented with the audio guide. Somehow we ended up in areas which are not barricaded and can be extremely dangerous but from these spots, you get great dizzy views of the arena. If you climbed all the way to the last top row, you will begin to experience vertigo given the oval, almost circular shape of the Arenes. Also on the exterior wall facing the road, the part we gone out to was not barricaded, so you could be on the edge of the exterior wall with the road just underneath. The ticket price is some what high even if this is the best maintained Arenes. It's defintely much more massive than the one in Orange/France and Arles/France.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank foiegrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The One Thing You Must Do in Nimes”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just visited this historic site with the family (teenage kids - boys and girls) and everyone agreed that this was the most unique and special attraction we have visited in France where we have spent about 2 weeks in the last 6 months. We were in Brittany in June. The view from inside the arena is awe inspiring and you can almost imagine the entertainment here over 2,000 years ago with the help of the audio guide. If you are wondering whether to visit the Nimes or Arles arena (which is a 30 minutes drive away), consider the following. Nimes claims to be the best preserve of the 20 most important arenas in the ancient Roman world. Nimes has audio guide which is immensely helpful. Nimes seems more authentic as the building looks like the original compared with Arles which seems to have many elements re-built and the structures appears to have been white-washed. Get the 3 in one pass and visit the La Tour Magna and the Maison Carree as well. The pass is well worth the money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Shrek-loves-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenes de Nimes also viewed

 

Been to Arenes de Nimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing