We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our visit to Nimes was one of the highlights of our trip. The sense of history, the weather and of course to Hotel de L'Amphitheatre made for a memorable stay. The hotel is hidden in a small lane extremely close to the amphitheatre and the old town. It is a flat walk from the railway station.
Your hosts are very welcoming and helpful. Our room was quite large with a balcony that overlooked the square. Double doors prevented the noise outside from disturbing us. The old building has been tastefully redecorated and is clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was ample and restaurant recommendations proved correct. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    94
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
141
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hotel well located, near many excellent restaurants. Don't do like I did and try to drive to the hotel -- cars are not welcome on pedestrians only areas! Leave your car in the nearby, well lit but somewhat expensive undergroung parking (just behind the Roman amphitheatre).
Excellent service, and the lady at the reception was both charming and helpful. Our room was large and well furnished; as our windows were on the rue des Arenes side, we were woken up quite early by the normal activity of nearby shops and businesses. Breakfast was adequate and offered a fine selection of fruits , breads and pastries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquesN555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel in the old part of Nîmes is about half a minute's walk from the town's main attraction, the Roman Arena. It's an old building but has been tastefully furnished with a modern twist. Breakfast (10 euro per person) was an ample selection of pastries, yoghurts and fruit. What stood out for me was the welcome of the owner (whose name I didn't get). She was always happy to chat and made helpful recommendations for dinner. We had driven to Nimes and the underground multi-storey car park near the Arena charges 17 euro for 24 hours.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cabin8032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a little trouble locating the hotel but it is within walking distance of the station as long as you have good wheelie suitcases. The host Jocelyn was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
Our room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. Bed and pillows very good.
Good value

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooking the square was spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEG7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A little hotel close to the arena. Our room was large and although overlooking a square very quiet. The beds are firm but comfortable. The bathroom has all that is required-even a magnifying mirror for applying make up.
The hosts are welcoming and happy to advise about restaurants directions etc. The breakfast is good with lots of alternatives available.
We were central to everything. The arena was steps away and the other attractions were all in walking distance.
The only grumble would be the reading lights -too far from the bed and too soft to read by but this would not be enough to stop me from coming to this charming hotel.

.

Room Tip: Room 8 on the 1st floor is large and quiet with both windows shut - no noise from square below.It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a small hotel with the best service. We had arrived after a week on the canals and were tired and needed some time out. The manager offered to do a large load of washing for us in her time and refused any payment. The breakfast was very adequate and I would recommend anyone who doesn't mind stairs to stay there. The manager carried our bags up and down the stairs for us.
It was a little noisy as we had arrived during the carnival for the bullfights. Parking is a nightmare. So park outside of the centre and walk there. Everyone we met in Nimes was helpful and attempted to speak English to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozpoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

As others have said - ideal location, walking distance from the station and close to a bunch of good food options. Hotel is in an old building, but is in great shape and just adds to the character of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
0.9 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Tuileries
Hotel des Tuileries
#7 of 37 in Nimes
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Nimes Gare Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperator
Hotel Imperator
#9 of 37 in Nimes
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 37 in Nimes
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Address: 4 rue des Arenes, 30000 Nimes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nimes
#6 Business Hotel in Nimes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Amphitheatre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel de L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing