We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & comfortable hotel in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming & comfortable hotel in ideal location”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de l'Amphiteatre for five nights at the end of September 2012.
The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Nimes close to the Amphitheatre.
The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful.
Our room was comfortable,spacious and attractively furnished.
Breakfasts are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochdaleJohnandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    96
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
142
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is a few steps away from the Arenas, in the old town. Many restaurants, cafes and shops are easy access through the pedestrian area.
The main visitor attractions in Nimes are walkable from this hotel.
The room was spotlessly clean, calm, air conditioned with a lunctional bathroom en suite. Breakfast was a treat with home made jam and an assortment of breads, croissants etc. etc.
One negative aspect is the difficulty & cost to park a car. A public underground car park is nearby but not cheap. We paid €16.00 for 18 hours parked.
The hotel has no lift & thus very difficult access for disabled people: rooms are upstairs!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an airconditioned room in summer as, to date, they were not all fitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarence259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de l'Amphiteatre for one night on our way from London to Provence via Nimes. The hotel is charming and very comfortable, and makes a welcome change from the usual chains! The location is fantastic - a stone's throw from central Nimes and the Amphiteatre - and the staff are warm and welcoming. All in all I'd recommend the hotel to anybody who wants a comfortable nights sleep in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side of the hotel facing the street rather than the square, and weren't trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a good quality hotel right in the centre of the historic part of Nimes. A taxi can drop you off 50 meters away so access is easy. Our room was perfectly spacious and clean, with a comfortable bed. The welcoming owners have renovated the rooms, and ok, maybe a bit more work on our bathroom is still to go, but this is being very pernickerty. Breakfast with homemade jams was fine. The wifi worked without a problem or charge (despite the comments of another reviewer). I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a short break in Nimes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The location of this hotel is very convenient, just seconds from the amphiteatre. The place itself is very warm and with great decor. The owners are great and willing to help whenever they can.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karinatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here only one night while passing through Nimes, and while the room was very pretty this wasn't a great experience overall. It's located in the old town of Nimes, which means it was hard to find, and not accessible by car or particularly close to parking (though very close to attractions, shopping and food). There is no elevator (decidedly not handicapped-accessible), and only a few rooms per floor so expect quite a few stairs.

The room, as I said, was pretty, a modern kind of funky design; the bathroom was pretty weird though. The shower didn't have a door, just a partition that only half enclosed it, which means it was chilly and water got all over the floor. There was also a very low section in the bathroom ceiling, so at 6'3" I wound up hitting my head repeatedly.

The "free" wifi competely sucked. You have to get a username/password at the front desk, and it kicked me out after a few minutes and wanted me to pay 15 EUR to log on again. For the few minutes I was able to use it, it was extremely slow. No reliable free wifi is an automatic -1 star in my book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghislaine r, Propriétaire at Hotel de L'Amphitheatre, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Bonjour,
We just wanted to ask the client who asked him about to pay 15 euros for the wifi ?
is it at reception or on the connexion ?
Our wifi is FREE for all the time and we never have any problem.
The gentleman booked with Booking.com and everything is mentionned about parking and elevator. When you come to a city, it is very rare to find parking just by the hotel, as he mentionned we are situated in the old town and in a pedetrian street...
We are sorry that he didn't enjoy his stay.
Best regards
Ghislaine Reeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend while catching up with friends.
Hosts were warm, welcoming and helpful. The location was perfect a stones through from everything. Was thinking about staying a little further out, but so glad we didn't. It was great to wonder about the old part of town to the little bars and not have far to wonder back.
Room was clean and quiet. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
0.9 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Tuileries
Hotel des Tuileries
#5 of 37 in Nimes
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperator
Hotel Imperator
#9 of 37 in Nimes
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Nimes Gare Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Nimes Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Address: 4 rue des Arenes, 30000 Nimes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nimes
#6 Business Hotel in Nimes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Amphitheatre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing