We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Places like this won't exist for much longer - it's a must visit”
Review of Restaurant Nicolas

Restaurant Nicolas
Ranked #37 of 567 Restaurants in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Congé du 23 juillet au 16 août au soir à bientôt. Pour vous servir et regaler vos papilles de retour pour la vuelta.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I went here just by chance one night and were so happy with the service that we made a reservation the next night upon paying the bill. This restaurant is truly a labor of love by the people who run it. The prices are amazingly cheap for an unbelievable amount of food - I can’t imagine how they even turn a profit. All the dishes are extremely authentic so if you’re not into innards, then a lot of the menu might not be for you, but if you are adventurous, you’ll love it.
Definitely a must go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal m, Propriétaire at Restaurant Nicolas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016
Google Translation

je tiens a vous dire un grand merci du fond du cœur .croyez que cela me touche et me récompense , des efforts que je fournis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 205 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

This restaurant exists for over 50 years and we have no idea how they survived. The reception was friendly but that is the only good thing there is to say. The owners of the restaurant still run the place themselves so they're both 70 years or older and they didn't evolve with the current food standards. The waitress takes ages to arrive at your table. The fish soup we ordered was poorly sifted and was actually just boiled fish debris. We ate it with a lot of hope the rest of the menu would be much better. The main course, angler (their specialty), was overcooked with a disgusting sauce and tasteless patatoes - and steak with patatoes (no, nothing more, no sauce, no vegetables, nothing). We ordered the steak "bien cuit", but they served it black, totally burned.

They have the weird habit of bringing the food to you on a silver tray and then putting it piece by piece on your plate. We both tasted our main course but stopped after one bite. We never did this before but we called the waitress and explained in our best French that we didn't like it and that we were happy to pay half the price. She got really angry and didn't stop yelling French words until we left... without paying. We didn't eat anything else that day and even now our stomaches ache when we think about that food.

Maybe we are spoiled in Belgium or we just both had bad luck. But one thing is certain: we will never go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

A local family restaurant which is a breath of fresh air amidst all those pretentious places serving the same dishes with over-attentive service at much higher prices!

Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal m, Propriétaire at Restaurant Nicolas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016
Google Translation

je tiens a vous dire un grand merci du fond du cœur .croyez que cela me touche et me récompense , des efforts que je fournis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The menu of the hotel we were staying in did not really appeal to us, so we asked the receptionnist to give us a hint. She directed us to the Nicolas and right she was. Ambiance, atmosphere, and quality of food were great. Prices very, very moderate.

Thank zwerver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal m, Propriétaire at Restaurant Nicolas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016
Google Translation

je tiens a vous dire un grand merci du fond du cœur .croyez que cela me touche et me récompense , des efforts que je fournis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Nicolas also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing