We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
73
9
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
73
9
7
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

I usually bring my American visitors to the bar of the Imperator. In the 50s, it was Hemingway's favorite water hole in Nimes. We were very disappointed to find out that pictures of Hemingway and his bullfight aficionados friends Picasso, Ava Gardner, and Cocteau had been removed. The new bar is stylish, but like many newly refurbished hotel's bars it is without much character.  Pity the architects didn't follow the example of the Ritz hotel in Paris.  Its own Hemingway Bar went through a major reform but it kept Papa's spirit by preserving his memorabilia. Disheartened, we settled for kirs instead of martinis. The Imperator's claim to fame is certainly Hemingway, sadly it has lost this special connection. I have removed the Imperator from my list of Nimes' landmarks.   

Room tip: we didn't stay in the hotel, only visited the bar.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beatrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

The hotel is centrally located. The design style was very impressive (to my taste).
The staff was very friendly.
But here end the good sides.
There is one antique lift that boasts having carried Hemingway once upon a time.That could be very nice and impressive were it not the only lift. The hotel was empty so we could use it with moderate efforts. At 50 % occupancy, a murder is predictable simply because of lift disagreements between guests.
There is almost no cupboard to pace your belongings.We left most of them in our luggage.
And the toilet leaves a lot to be desired.
And since its restaurant receives customers from outside, even though the hotel was empty, we were hardly offered a table and this after several peas.
And in return to what it offered the price was outrageous.
We stayed at Dieu hotels both at Lyon and Marseille during the same week, and compared to their prices even half of what we paid would be too expensive for the Imperator.

Room tip: At a price of 350 Euro per night, try to avoid this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH_LImperator, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotels - L'Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking time commenting your experience with us.

Our antique lift which indeed carried : Hemingway, Picasso, Cocteau, Ava Gardner and many others… is one of the hotel's pride.
However, we have a second one : modern, efficient and quick at disposal for our clientele.

I am very sorry to read that it was difficult accomadating you in our retaurant.
It takes a 24hours notice to be sure obtening a table.

Thank you for your visit.

Kind regards,
Christophe Chalvidal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

A charming hotel with a great location, very attentive staff and excellent cuisine.Many thanks to the Hotel manager Christophe Chalvidal for the warm welcome and lovely dinner. The hotel is a gem of the city of Nimes.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tigran1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH_LImperator, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotels - L'Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2019

Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you very much for your visit and kind words.
We are all very glad you enjoyed your stay at Maison Albar Hotels L'Imperator.

We wish you a very happy new year hoping seing you very soon.

Best regards,

Christophe Chalvidal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Must be on of the best hotels iv ever stayed in. Service from all the staff was impeccable. Food was outstanding. Very stylish decor throughout. The spa and massage Is a must. So relaxing. The location is very good and easy to get around the historic part of Nimes.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Scuba129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH_LImperator, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotels - L'Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Madam, Si,

Thank you ever so much for your good words.
You had the full experience :-)
So great to read that your stay with us reached all your expactations.

Looking forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Chalvidal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019

From the moment your car is taken from you and your luggage is whisked to your room you immediately appreciate this is no ordinary 5-star hotel. Some hotels seem to have achieved their 5 stars by simply completing a checklist of amenities without paying actual attention to the level of finish and quality of fixtures a property has. This one exudes quality, no expense spared in its trendy mid-century modern decoration style. Our room (214) was lovely, with a Nespresso coffee machine and Tea supplied in addition to the minibar. Floor to ceiling French doors opened out onto the beautiful courtyard garden view where we could see the outdoor pool deck. We enjoyed a swim in its warm water before the inclusive and substantial continental breakfast. A short walk from the hotel takes you into the heart of Nimes historic shopping region or the many historial sights and water gardens. Before dinner, we used the indoor spa facilities with another pool and steam room which again did not disappoint. We understand a Gym is also planned. The cocktail bar is lovely and so much so that we stayed in it and enjoyed the tapas menu rather than going for a formal dinner in the restaurant. This hotel's staff are kind and friendly and make your stay feel really rather special. Can highly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimS2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAH_LImperator, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotels - L'Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Madam, Sir,

We have no words to describe the pleasure on reading your very kind comment.
We are very proud and honored to have been able to make your stay Special.
This is very important for us - fondamental.

Thank you for your visit and confidence into our establhsment.

Looking forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Chalvidal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews