We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely, this restaurant deserves 5 points”

Aux Plaisirs des Halles
Ranked #93 of 545 Restaurants in Nimes
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Dinner in this restaurant was our best culinary experience after 8 days in South France.
I can count Brandade (a fish speciality from Nimes) or fish Jullienne as main dish but also a kind of beef carpacio as starter. Beside excellent food, location is very good being close to hotel Imperator, inner stylish terasse, waiting time between dishes just normal, staff very carefull to serve at best, price is ok and I dare to say prices could be higher for what they offer there.
Of course I heartly recomend the place.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Silviu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2016

We went here after reading about the restaurant on multiple websites and in our Guide Vert. We were disappointed - the dishes sounded exciting and the prices were attractive, but the service felt overstated and missed target. The wait staff spent so much time running around to individually serve bread and pour clients more wine from the bottles on their tables, not something you expect from a restaurant with menus in the 30 euro range - but then messed up when they forgot about our mains, and we waited over 20 minutes between courses. The server at one point looked over to us and said "ça arrive..." and then, when he did finally serve us, brusquely dropped our plates down on the table, making the food fall out of place. Later, he finally brought us another water carafe and spilled some on the table, unapologetically.

The food was fine, and not overpriced, but the overall experience was lacking grace and quality.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Aux Plaisiers des Halles prides itself on using all fresh ingredients purchased at Nimes' central market (les Halles) about 150 metres away. An evening "menu" is offered at 25 euros: choice of one of 2 entrees, plus one of 2 plats and a dessert. I highly recommend the carpaccio beef as an entree. Wine list is extensive. Service is friendly, efficient and in no way did we feel rushed. Three of us ordered the fish as our main course - "loup", which I believe is "loup de mer" or "sea bass" in English - and it was perfectly prepared.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mastercraft262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2015

Great combination of flavours, local products, wine selection and service. For fine gourmets at excellent price.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank HRey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

This restaurant does not feature the traditional cuisine of the region. If you’re looking for trendy dishes served in small portions, this could be for you. It was not for us. Regional wines are served, mostly priced far above 20 €.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Plaisirs des Halles also viewed

 

Been to Aux Plaisirs des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.