We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch!”

Aux Plaisirs des Halles
Ranked #95 of 547 Restaurants in Nimes
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 18, 2015

Went there for a lunch for around 25 euros. We were really pleased. The bread selection is really good, the entrees were creative and well done, a really generous and tasty salad and the main course was really tasty, both the fish as the meat. Desert was simple but very tasty. Nice presentation and everything irreprochable.
The service was good, but the restaurant was half empty.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juss_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2015

This place had great reviews, and the negative ones we read focused on irrelevancies - so we decided this would be the perfect dinner out in Nimes.

We were wrong.

The location is nice, but that is the only positive thing I can say - and it's safe to file this restaurant under the "tourist trap" folder. Dont go here. There are so many other better restaurants in Nimes (try Skab); ones that cook fresh food, cook it well, serve it to you without delays, and generally follow in the French tradition of brilliant cuisine.

Blow by blow:

Food we ate. Gazpacho that was fizzy and had obviously been made at the beginning of the week and put into a tub. "C'est frais?" we asked. A shrug we got. A frois gras creme brulee as a starter that sounded fun and inventive but was bizarre and sickly sweet. The mains we both had the chef's specialty - a type of salty fish cake with grilled moules. Nice, but greasy, and nothing above average. Dessert was a disaster - a mint souffle that should never have seen the light of day. I'll never be able to untaste that thing...I still shudder at the thought of it. Bleugh. All of the plates had breadcrumbs inexplicably sprinkled all over them - even weirder considering the bread they did serve was crap hotel-batch bread: all stiff and tasteless - unforgivable in a restaurant claiming to be as good as this, even more so in France where even the dingy bars serve fresh baguettes.

The service was inept (20 minutes just waiting to order our drinks and see a menu!), and the wine list was full of overpriced mediocrity (another cardinal sin in France).

Its a shame. We wanted to have a really nice meal in Nimes - we ended up leaving feeling robbed. This place clearly wants to be taken seriously (the ridiculous plates, novelty cutlery and menu point to that), but if they cannot get the basics right it...well, whats the point?

No doubt it turns a tidy profit from tourists - please, just don't be one of them.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edski87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

We were in Nimes to go to a concert and sought out this restaurant, as we found it was the most recommended in the various books we have. We were not disappointed. The quality of the food, especially the fish and scallops, was superb. The service was attentive and efficient. Good wine list.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue_Ac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2015

A charming place, a welcoming hostess, great silverware and always a delicious carte.
The fois gras just "poellé" is simply superb

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Franswa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2014

The food here was quite decent, but the overall experience disappointing. Much thought goes into the presentation, and phrases which sprang to mind included "trying too hard" and "triumph of form over substance" - competent chefs trying to tart things up, with grim-faced front-of-house staff who seem to have forgotten they're in the "hospitality" business. You can do better than this frosty temple of pretension.

Date of visit: September 2014
1  Thank LInsonnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Plaisirs des Halles also viewed

 

Been to Aux Plaisirs des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.