We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and friendly service”
Review of Thym et Romarin

Thym et Romarin
Ranked #53 of 1,388 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $21
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Saint-Roch
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value and friendly service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We both went for the 3 courses for €19 and were really pleased with our choices. For main I had a perfectly cooked steak and my partner had confit duck. Dessert was a huge creme brulee. We sat outside so I can't vouch for the interior. The server was really friendly and spoke excellent English (she was very patient with my rudimentary French too!). Would go again when in Montpellier.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    103
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“cosy, atmospheric, great food and service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had read the reviews and couldn't wait to find this cosy little restaurant a few minutes' walk from the Place de la Comedie. Fortunately we'd checked it out late afternoon and booked for the same evening. By 9 o'clock it was full, and groups of prospective diners had to be turned away. We were given a warm welcome and a cosy table on the ground floor. The service was excellent, the food copious and well cooked, and the 3-course meal was good value at 18,50 euros a head. With only about 30 covers (a small ground floor area and a basement) it's essential to book!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had some doubts but were more than pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Having read the bad review from someone using a Living social voucher, worried that we would receive the same treatment - what a contrast! The ambience was great, food superb and waiter couldn't have been nicer - will definitely be making this one of our regular restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Waters
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent simple food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

It may not look much and be down a little street away from the main area but the food is excellent.
The menu isn't huge but big enough to please most and when you see the size of the kitchen you can't not be impressed with what they turn out.
If you want fancy al la carte French cuisine don't go. If you want a tasty prix fix meal at a good price then this is excellent simple cooking that tastes great.
Less than €60 for two three course meals and wine, can't go wrong

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Super!
We stayed in Montpellier for two nights. And both days had dinner in this restaurant.
Everything, we tasted, was excellent.
Very comfortable, cosy place in the small quiet street.
It seemed that the owner cooked by himself. And he put soul in the dishes))
And a complement from the restaurant - digestif - was a very pleasant surprise)
And in addition price 18€ for entree+plat+dessert.
Go and try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thym et Romarin also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Thym et Romarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing