We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”

La maison de la Lozere
Ranked #46 of 1,404 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $148
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Comédie
Brighton
Level Contributor
169 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Very beautiful restaurant with charming staff who also speak some English if you need it. A range of set menus to choose from. All are pretty expensive. Portion sizes in some cases are quite small. Some part of the set menu worked better than others for me - for example my fish main course was tiny and had a rather bitter lemon sauce with it. In a nod to local cuisine all main courses are served with aligot, a potato and cheese dish which is served with great theatrical flourish at the table. This is fun but at the end of the day it's a rather starchy, dull dish! However the next day we saw people queuing up to buy it in the Christmas market, so it obviously has a place in local hearts.

Overall, a good night out more for the service and ambiance than the food, which is good but not exceptional.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    115
    34
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely divine”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Recently ate at this wonderful restaurant whilst in Montpellier.
The surroundings were stunning and very classy. The service was attentive and not at all obtrusive. The lunch menu was fantastic value. The food was divine- different exquisite flavours and very plentiful. So very highly recommended!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London.England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful and stylish”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Food - gastronomic and tasty; menu a little confusing - just ask for help. meal for 2 about 230 euros

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Musician101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This restaurant did a lot to restore our faith in French cuisine and the whole French dining experience which over our two week holiday was otherwise decidedly average . The food was delicious and allowed to speak for itself - no fussy presentation or overly clever combinations and the staff were friendly and attentive without being instrusive (a special mention here to the sommelier who could not have been more helpful when, rather embarrassed, I pulled out my Jancis Robinson list of her favourite Languedoc -Roussillon wines; he had 3 on her list and the one her recommended was the most delicious wine we drank all holiday). An unexpected gem.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Bellapop600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore-Washington, DC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Savor the Flavors and the Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Maison de la Lozere. Though a bit pricier than most of the restaurants where we ate in France, our dining experience was well worth the extra cost. The food, presentation, atmosphere, and staff were all top notch. The portions were reasonable and the waiters were attentive without being fawning. As one reviewer said the l'aligot, a specialty of theirs, is presented with a theatrical touch, and it is a delight to the taste buds as well. On our way out, we were given a bag of sweet rolls they had just prepared for the next morning- an unexpected and most welcome surprise in what had already been a splendid dining experience. Montpellier is not the easiest city to navigate in or the most relaxing to visit but if you are headed through that part of southern France I highly recommend reserving a table there- it is well worth it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank lvjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La maison de la Lozere also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to La maison de la Lozere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing