We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Jardin

Le Petit Jardin
Ranked #31 of 1,285 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Préfecture
Description: The restaurant "Le Petit Jardin" has been an institute of Montpellier for some years. Situated in the heart of the old walls of the city, on a narrow street, to the passer by it may seem like just another building, to enter inside you will discover one of Montpellier best hidden secret garden.We propose a cuisine simple yet refined, our chef works within the seasons. With Provence on our doorstep we are spoilt for choice of product, not to mention wine.In our "Bar à Vins"you will find a sélection of dishes wich are inspired from our Chef's travels.We hope you enjoy!
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well spaced pleasant garden restaurant with very good food and attentive service despite being busy. Very reasonable prices and a good range on wines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulb1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    255
    88
    48
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“5 stars for food, 6 stars for service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had passed many busy restaurants in the centre of Montpellier as we did a brief walk around the streets before an important meeting. We were hungry but only had 45 minutes to eat. Having passed many restaurants where the food looked middling to bad and been told another was too busy, we stumbled along the back street of Jean-Jacques Rosseau and saw a discreet entrance door to a restaurant.

Desperate for food, we discovered we were not too late even at 1.30pm and sat down after advising the Maitre d"hotel without a great deal of hope, we needed to be out in 45 minutes.

The garden setting overlooking the cathedral below was gorgeous (interior looked splendid too). Our two course meal was exceptional for a lunchtime "quick food." The mix of flavours and texture was first class as was the beautiful presentation on the plate. A delight. The glass of house rose was excellent (not the normal plonk you get with house wine).

The service was attentive but discreet and we left the table at bang on 45minutes not feeling we had at all been rushed. The pleasure was even further enhanced by the relatively low cost for such a quality lunchtime meal.This is a restaurant we will return to when we have more time to explore its delights. Well done. 5 stars for food, 6 stars for service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meals of my 10-day trip to Montpellier, France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Best meals of my 10-day trip to Montpellier and Paris, France. Ten of us from a Shakespeare conference dined together in the garden on Thurs., 27 June, with a reservation. It's a gorgeous, quiet setting for a leisurely evening meal. Also ideal for a romantic dining experience. Agree with the review below that the meals tasted delicious and were aesthetically pleasing in presentation. I enjoyed my vegetarian appetizer and main course. The waiter was attentive. The sommelier was helpful with selecting several bottles of wine for the table. Returned two nights later with one friend -- was barely able to get a table because we didn't have a reservation on a Sat. evening. Same waiter, but he didn't recognize me and the service was less attentive, perhaps because we were two females. Ordered the same vegetarian appetizer and main course. Adjacent to the Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem on Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shakespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful environement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited this restaurant to celebrate our marriage anniversary and as it was summer we dinned outside. A beautiful place with a great ambiance. The service was excellent, something you don't usually find in Montpellier. That same night there was also a wedding reception, so there was a lot of people, but nevertheless we were very well taken care of. The quality of the food was excellent although I wasn't totally satisfied with the taste of the plate I chose. The desert was really nice though and made up for it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ValakiThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice garden to have lunch/diner. The service is ok but a little sloppy sometimes maybe because the place was rather crowdy when we visited. They forgot our 'amuse bouche' and the apero but the food was good. Good choice of wine by the glass!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jo_2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Jardin also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Le Petit Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing