We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great gastronomic experience”
Review of Le Jardin des Sens - CLOSED

Le Jardin des Sens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $206
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great gastronomic experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent food served in a restaurant which does every thing well: service, menu, wine list, attention to the guests.
The rooms and table are confortable. A place which is not to be missed in Montpellier

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    163
    78
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best gourmet experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

From the moment you arrive, service is top class, staff is very professional and attentive. The menu is outstanding, with creations from the Pourcel brothers which are totally unique, well-presented and mouthwatering. Fresh seasonal ingredients, creative combinations, a wine list as impressive as Montpellier's phone book and most of all the biggest cheese trolley I have seen to this day. And excellent too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Calinnn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Just too much (very good) food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went there and had the full-on 10+ course gastronomy tasting menu. While everything is perfect or close from the quality of the dishes to the attention of the staff, it is just too much food for one stomach. By the time the amazing cheese tray turns up, you just can't take it anymore and quite happy to miss out on the deserts. I'd recommend going for the lighter version or just plain a-la-carte.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoburnExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant dinner experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I enjoyed a tasting dinner at Jardin des Sens that exceeded my expectations by miles. The flavours, taste, composition, and presentation of the dishes were magnificent. The waiters were professional and attentive.
If you want an exceptional dinner experience, this is the place to go in Montpellier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseyCheeks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“genuinely don't understand rave reviews”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were encouraged to visit by the excellent reviews the restaurant has received and were not only sorry we went but angry at the experience. We dine out a lot and have visited many excellent international dining rooms over the years. I do not mind paying a high price for good food and I was looking forward to a special evening. I do accept that it was my own fault that I hadn't realised it would be a taxi ride (€25 each way) from the centre of town to this dull-looking suburb. A glass of what I believed from the waiter's description to be non-vintage champagne at 22 euros per glass is, in my opinion, unreasonable. Equally surprising is 8-9 euros for a coffee (no one advised me if it was a particularly special bean but it didn't taste as though it was). This may have been counteracted if the food was up to the standard I expected but in my opinion it was not. Even the waiter agreed that my main course was both unimaginative and poor value, and to be fair they changed it, but why send out such a poor first dish at all? My companion felt his choices were well-cooked and presented but in terms of taste, it was all generally uninspiring. It was not a meal we will remember, as we have with some others we have had. The local wines paired with our courses were drinkable but also not memorable to us.

We felt the dining room was pretty enough but lacked atmosphere and though the staff are indeed very helpful and perfectly nice, the experience was less enjoyable than our visit to several other restaurants in Montpellier (and certainly below other international places we are familiar with). We arrived back at our hotel just feeling angry at a bill of almost 300 euros, it did not feel worth the price. A local friend (and foodie) had tried to steer us elsewhere for dinner that night and we wish we had listened to him. A real shame in our opinion. I genuinely wish I could write a rave review (and expected to be doing that) but, based on our experience, I wouldn't return and really couldn't recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxxxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin des Sens also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing