We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Flaugergues

Chateau de Flaugergues
Ranked #16 of 116 things to do in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This folly (pleasure house) was extended and beautifield between 1696 and 1730 by Etienne de Flaugergues, councillon to the revenue court of Montpellier. A unique three-storey staircaise with hanging key-stone vaulting of a rare elegance takes up a third of the building. Formal gardens lead to landscape gardens embellished by an orangery.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Charming vineyard chateau on outskirts of town staff and especially the charming eccentric count make this a fabulous experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Pointers4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    11
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We went as a group of friends to do a wine tasting and explore the chateau. Our guide was lovely, and told us about the family who live in the chateau and then after tasting some of the incredible wines that it makes and explaining a bit about how they were made, we were free to wander around the beautiful gardens in the sun. It was 6.50 euros for the wine tasting and it was also advised to book ahead but fully worth a visit if in neighbouring Montpellier, or passing through on a trip somewhere else.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliza U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
“Ett utmärkt närhanda alternativ.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Om man vill besöka ett levande franskt slott och dessutom inte spendera pengar på att hyra en bil tycker jag att Chateau de Flaugergues är ett utmärkt allternativ. Man får se ett mindre franskt slott i bruk som bostad och dessutom höra historien om Colbertfamiljen. Vinprovningen var trevlig om än lite knapphanda, något som kanske varierar på gruppkompositionen. Var beredd på ytterst basal engelsk service, vi fick översätta merparten själva.

A splendid closehand alternative for those finding themselves wanting to visit a french castle that's in use and remains a living environment. If you are one on a lower budget and do not want to rent a car this castle is accessible by a tram ride and a short walk. The winetasting was completely satisfying although somewhat short, something that perhaps is modified to the composition of tourgroup they encounter. Be prepared to meet a very scarce level of english service, we had to act translators ourselves for non-french speakers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank OGre86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, Francia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Wonderful afternoon at Chateau de Flaugergues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

After a lovely lunch at the Folia restaurant, we went on a guided visit to the Chateau to learn more about the history of France and the meaning of the term ¨la folie¨, the phrase used in our pamphlet, ¨Visitez la folie!¨ Our guide made the visit interesting by sharing information about the history of the Colbert family and their activities at the Chateau in the past. We saw the unique staircase and the Chateau dining room. We learned of the indoor games played by family and visitors in past centuries. As an art journalist I was able to enjoy the Chateau´s 18th century architecture, its engravings by famous artists and the beautiful Flemish tapestries.on the walls.

After our visit to the Chateau, we strolled through the gardens containing plants and trees from around the world. Our guide was able to show us a plant or tree that originated in each of the countries represented by the people in our group. The tour was followed by a wine tasting, ¨degustacion, ¨ of the excellent wines produced by the Chateau.

I highly recommend that you take the time, when you are visiting Montpellier, to visit Chateau de Flaugergues. My friend and I had a wonderful afternoon at the Chateau. I am looking forward to my next visit.

I will publish this review in my Word Press art and photography website

http://charaleeg.wordpress.com/

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Charalee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chateau de Flaugergues est merveilleux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have been here for good day with school friends... But we have an excellent day!!! A great chateau with ancient things An excellent big garden (especially bambous are very atractive), and the very best VINES!!! I can bet i have tasted the best vine of the world. Love you Sud De France!!!!

Merci Beaucoup pour la bonne soirèe!!!!

:)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank onders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Flaugergues also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Chateau de Flaugergues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing