We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, decent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appart'City Confort Montpellier Ovalie
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Barcelone
1 review
“Terrible service, decent accomodation”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We got a studio with a decent-sized room, split toilet and shower and tiny kitchenette. Internet is available in the room through cable which you have to ask for at the reception. Wifi is available on ground floor. Outdoor parking is free but limited. These are the only things we liked about our stay.

We arrived at 1PM to do the check-in which starts at 2 so the room was not ready, so we went to kill time at the McDonald's that's at the roundabout. We came back at 2:10PM and the room was not ready - being cleaned. The asked us to wait in the "lounge" where other people were also waiting. By 3PM, the room was... still not ready, still being cleaned, and no, they had no idea when it'd be ready. We didn't get our room before 4:05PM. At least, it was clean. For our 2-hours wait, we received nothing, not even apologies although they did insist that we checked-out by 11AM the next day.

We thought that'd be the end of it but another surprise awaited us in the room. Being in August, it's full summer in Montpellier and hot! The air con only blew hot air. The front desk informed us that air conditioning was broken in half of the hotel and that there was nothing they could do. When asked for a fan, they apologized and informed us that all the fans had already been allocated to the rooms that needed it. Well, not our room! We obviously will have to 1) sleep with the window open but the room gives onto the traffic and it's very noisy in addition of being hot and feeding the mosquitoes, 2) sleep with the door open and hope to get a bit of air from the corridor, 3) sleep in the lift or camp in the lounge where the air con works perfectly.

This hotel is probably good-value but the terrible, terrible, horrible service we received guarantees that I will give it a miss next time I'm in town. I might try another hotel of the chain but it'd have to be a really good offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abebech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    77
    55
    57
    25
See reviews for
47
85
11
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is holiday lodging "Do It Yourself" style, to my opinion not suitable for business: if you're working long hours and don't have time to go to the Carrefour supermarket across the busy roundabout, to buy dishwash stuff and water for your fridge (luckily this Park&Suites still has a vending machine, newer ones apparently don't).
No make up of the room if you don't explicitly put the "make up my room", and even then 2 times out of three not done, no cleaning of cups and glasses (I don't have the time to do the dishes!), no refreshment of towels in a hot climate, no hand soap (luckily I'm always prepared for this).
Pluspoints : taxi can be there in 5 minutes, also tramway is not far, so you can easily get to city center, breakfast buffet is OK, but I pitied the single person staff when there was a bus with tourists. There are 2 Park&Suites hotels in Montpellier: make sure taxi/gps takes you to the right quarter of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Short_Trippin_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Rather large room with split toilet and shower and small kitchenette. Breakfast is limited but sufficient . Overall a decent stay...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I chose this motel based on value and the availability of free parking since I was traveling across France with a rental car. Free parking is available in parking lot or on adjacent streets (though parking in motel's underground garage is 9 Euro/day). Studio unit was compact, but well equipped and very functional. Our room opened onto traffic roundabout which was busy much of the day and night, but we enjoyed watching the cars (did I mention I was traveling with a 14-year old son?) part of the time and closed the window for quiet at other times. Personnel were courteous and friendly. Grocery store just across the street (for stocking kitchen). Tram was 2 blocks away and an easy commute into Montpellier for all the action. We rented bicycles and rode from downtown to motel one night -- easy trip -- and stashed the bikes in the parking garage for free. Non-central location was a plus for me and everything else was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side do not open onto traffic roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyond37917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

£130 for 3 nights is not a lot of money in my opinion.

The rooms are clean and compact with wired internet and TV.

Observations:

We had to pay €6 on arrival and this was explained as a "city tax", I did not know anything about this.
There was no tea towel in the room
The cleaner only cleans every 3 days
No corkscrew or bottle opener
No Cat 5 cable for the wired internet. I brought my own but assume there would be a charge if you asked reception for one.
There is free parking but if you want to park inside there is a charge
There is a supermarket opposite the hotel
My French phrasebook was very useful!!
Very close to the coast and local marinas, which is why we stayed here.
The hotel has 2 addresses? Make sure you have the right one for your Sat Nav!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I can't say, they all seem similar although ours was farthest away from the road so possibly qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djansons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

These self catering apartments will not blow your mind. They are small and compact, however if you have your expectations in the right place you will not be disappointed. All areas were clean. The air con worked well.

Give consideration to what you intend to cook as the facilities in the kitchenette are limited, as is the space. That said you can make yourself something. There is a kettle, microwave (small) with built in grill, small two ring hob and a full size fridge. In our room there were plenty of plates/bowls/cups/cutlery/cooking pans. (Don't forget to take something to cook!)

Going to the town centre? Drive & Park or get a cab. We drove, it took 10 mins and cost 3.50 eur for 2 hours.

Just remember what you are paying (assuming it is still as cheap as it was for us) and you'll be happy with what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

More useful for when you're on business or just passing through.

The self-catering appartments could've been a bit larger (I took a 2 person room), but offer everything you need (equipped kitchen, bathroom with shower, high speed internet access free of charge, cable TV).
Across the road there's a supermarket if you need anything.
The hotel has its own restaurant open for breakfast (not that varied but sufficient, and decent French bread), lunch and dinner offering a variety of dishes and menus for that high a price.

Suited my needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms (when with 2 book the 4 person apt. rooms), worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeMaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
3.5 mi away
Appart'City Confort Montpellier Millenaire
3.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Montpellier Centre le Millenaire
1.6 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer
3.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc Euromedecine
Hotel du Parc Euromedecine
#19 of 93 in Montpellier
150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kyriad Montpellier Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Confort Montpellier Ovalie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Confort Montpellier Ovalie

Property: Appart'City Confort Montpellier Ovalie
Address: 105 rue Gilles Martinet | Place Flandres Dunkerque, 34070, Montpellier, France (Formerly Park & Suites Montpellier Ovalie)
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Confort Montpellier Ovalie 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appart'City Confort Montpellier Ovalie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Suite Hotel Montpellier
My Suite Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing