We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free and nice for walking and running”

Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.34*
and up
Montpellier City Card
Ranked #6 of 118 things to do in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free and nice for walking and running”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you're looking for a place to run, that's the best place for that. It's free to enter and got really good place for a run in the dirt.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Farouk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    646
    198
    66
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Almost too much to see!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Be warned - this place is extremely big. You will need a couple of visits to get around it all. Our two little boys (4 and nearly 2) found it hard-going but enjoyed themselves. I would also not rely on the zoo for lunch as the café doesn't look too inviting.

That the zoo is a free attraction obviously brings in the crowds. Well done to the city of Montpellier for funding it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but well run zoo”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although there are not that many animals and birds as some zoos, the one they have are in well-managed naturalized settings. The zoo is spread out, so walking the whole thing with small children could be a challenge. The animals are from all over the world, some rare or endangered, with descriptions of habitats and populations in both French and English.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevinMattituck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great open zoo with rainforest section”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a lot different from most zoos as it's very spaced out so be prepared for a lot of walking to each exhibit. The rainforest section was 6 euros and was definitely worth it and made the whole trip with while

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not our best day!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit the zoo this year as we had done the safari park the previous year. It is free in and there is a small fee for special exhibits if you want to go in. However it is a huge zoo and takes several hours to get around, which is fine if its not too hot ( which it was the day we went! ) next problem is if you haven't had the foresight to bring a lunch and drinks they you will have to trek back to the entrance for refreshments as the only restaurant is at the start! And the restaurant is my biggest complaint, dirty, understaffed and ridiculously overpriced, we were in such a bad mood after we went there we left the zoo!! Most of the animal enclosures were empty or looked to small, my daughter lost interest after an hour and it was a nightmare to find in the first place as there was basically no signage for it until we were in the parking lot! Avoid in my opinion! But I would recommend giving Montpellier a visit, beautiful city, fab shops and bakeries and full of atmosphere, rescued the whole day for us!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing