We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel considerably less than the sum of its parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Suites Montpellier
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“A hotel considerably less than the sum of its parts”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

There would be only one reason why you would want to venture anywhere near this property - the incredible Najette on front of house who is incredibly efficient, adaptable, friendly, professional and approachable. Bad news is she leaves soon for pastures new...so no real reason why I can see you'd bother turning up at this place - let me tell you why.

1) It is not an inviting looking building, rather cold, and it has been reinvented from a previous property to a Suite Novotel and let me tell you the transition is not entirely successful.

2) The entrance to reception is at the side of the edifice, up a few steps, with a series of fridges on your left (the pantry), reception on your right, little bar adjacent and a breakfast room complete with tables and easy chairs in the distance.

3) Outside is a small patio, a tiny circular and frankly pretty useless swimming pool. As the hotel sits above one of the business intersections in the whole of the city, why you'd want to sit outside escapes me.

4) The staff with the expetion of one or two others and the amazing Najette - disengaged, sullen and unhelpful. You got the impression you were interrupting most of the time.

5) The corridors were depressing - a bit like a barrack block and the colours used to paint them dismal.

6) There was also an musty smell which also permeated in all of the rooms in which we stayed - 3 in total.

7) Our first room had the benefit of a comfy armchair - the other 2 didn't.

8) A good thing is the telephone and media package - but you can get that in any Suite Novotel.

9) First room - rain shower inoperable, bugs biting me over 3 nights to the extent we had to go to another room with the management washing their hands of the issue.

10) Second room - no armchair, more musty smell permeating and a bedroom window that did not shut. This exacerbated the incredibly disturbing traffic noise outside (cars, trucks, trams, sirens from early morning) to a level where sleep was impossible.

11) The bathroom is so badly designed with half doors as the entry from the sleeping area light spills in and wakes you up.

12) There is a bar with 2 stools, an ancient microwave, little fridge and microscopic sink. Nothing else. Not even a cloth. This is for medium length stays? Really?

13) Pantry food is overpriced, of a quality which is forgettable - go out and bring things in or eat out. Believe it or not, it'll be cheaper!

14) Breakfast was apparently designed by nutritionists. No they weren't. An accountant did. Served up in jars, the value for money totally atrocious.

15) Massages take place some days in reception - a nice touch. But after staying here, you'd need on to relax.

16) They say the modular concept is amazing. Well, let me tell you this refers to a table on wheels, two cheap chairs, a sliding door between sleeping and living and a totally unusable sofa.

I changed my mind on this place after 3 nights. With Najette from front of house leaving soon, there is nothing to commend this over-priced conundrum of a hotel. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: All are likely to be noisy given its location on an intersection where traffic converges and sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMILIE M, Assistante de Direction at Novotel Suites Montpellier, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear,
Thank you for your comments. We take care of its.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    292
    158
    62
    24
See reviews for
204
190
36
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Quite a strange hotel, this is more kind of appartements building as an example there are no room service, bar or restaurant !!!
there is only a medium quality breakfeast.
the appartement is not very nice and the furniture are cheap.
Good points are : room/appartement are big with a kitchen, living room and room, there is also gym and small external swimming pool . wifi is free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raphy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Suite Novotel in April 2013. My stay was pleasant and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was perfectly sufficient for my business trip.

The location isn't too far away from some fantastic attractions and restaurants, and it's even possible to walk to a restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenciennes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really satisfied with this hotel. Easy to reach by tram line 1 from SNCF station, stop at Place de l'Europe; or by walking through the commercial centre of La Fayette. We stayed in a large suite with a micro-oven, a fridge which are very comfortable when we have to warm up or to keep the milk, the food...for our child. The room was cleaned up everyday. The air-conditioner worked well even too cold at night during hot days.
When I said to the receptionist that I preferred a bed with slide out bed underneath, he was glad to find and provide us a room with that kind of bed at the second floor, a good view to the pool and under the trees. And when we were busy with a lot of luggages and stroller, a man that we guess the manager of reception came to help us enthusiastically.
We could find a lot of discount cards for restaurants, parks,... near the common used computer. The hotel is close to the restaurant area where you can find good food at reasonable price with good view (in front of the tram station named Place de l'Europe, at the bus stop side, you can easily find a large square with restaurants or just walk along the road connecting to Antigone commercial area, you can also find a wide range of restaurants)
We expected the swimming pool is designed for both adults and small children. However, it is too deep for a child at 2.5 years old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is like the usual Novotel, neat & clean, very friendly staff. This one has very Nice location. The walk to the old city square was about 10-15 mins. There are a few restaurant by river, about 2-4 mins walking. Breakfast was good. Suites were spacious and Pool was also good, although bit small. Bar served drinks till mid night. Tram stop is right outside the hotel.

Overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnandPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very good Novotel Suitehotel in Montpellier and a cosy Place to stay. for this short Trip, we did went there for 2 Nights and we can say, that it is a good Hotel with a nice and friendly Customerservice there. Room was clean and good outfitted. Not far away from Hotel, have been few very good and typical Restaurants in Montpellier. On our Stay there, all was very calm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineBeachTOP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Montpellier Centre Antigone
1.4 mi away
Novotel Montpellier
Novotel Montpellier
#20 of 93 in Montpellier
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Montpellier

Property: Novotel Suites Montpellier
Address: 45 avenue du Piree, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Novotel Suites Montpellier hotel, located in the Antigone district. Relish in the rooms and suites in this 4-star hotel. Change your Suite into a workspace for your meetings. Enjoy a snack in our friendly dining area or in the privacy of your own room. Take a dip in the pool, unwind in the fitness room or stroll through the streets in the city center. Make the most of the sunshine at Novotel Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Montpellier Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing