We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, groovy place”
Review of L'Atypik resto

L'Atypik resto
Ranked #364 of 1,404 Restaurants in Montpellier
Price range: $13 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in one of the most picturesque spot of the historical center of Montpellier, the French gourmet restaurant "Atypik Resto" offers you to experience a gustative journey between tradition and modernity through seasonal fine food, 100% home cooked. Professional hospitality and friendly atmosphere guarantied. Every evenings from Monday to Saturday + Lunch hours from Monday to Friday.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, groovy place”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The restaurant is a bit hard to find in the backstreets of the city, but wel worth the search if you like great food. The menu was French with a modern twist. The scalops were amazing, cooked perfectly and as fresh as they come. We also enjoyed the duck very much aswell as the lamb. The service was quick and very friendly, with a more personal approach when comparing with other restaurants. The atmosphere is really funky aswel as is the decoration (old lp records on the tables). They speak Frenglish which comes in very handy. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Atypik resto is somewhat hidden in a backstreet of the historic centre of Montpellier. But it was by far our best eating experience in a few days Montpellier. The food was very good, the menu was original, fine French food but with a slight twist, the staff very friendly, the general atmosphere very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The atypik resto... Is not the same!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday evening i discovered a very nice place to eat in the historical center of Montpellier. The place is cosy, with only a few tables, and a terrasse which must be great in the summer time. Yesterday, it was quite chilly so we went inside.. The deco is great, young, fun and i loved the set of table mats which are old vinyl records! i had the "disque d'or of Edith Piaf" under my plate.. ;-) The food was excellent, delicate and inventive at the same time.. Great dressing... I started with a lobster cream with grilled scallops then some beef with chestnuts and duck "foie gras". I finished with fruits and "fondue au chocolat". All the food is home-made and that really makes a difference.
Well if you look for an original place to eat in Montpellier you should definitely have a look there... It is not the same.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaliane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bonne ambiance, mais nourriture pas top”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Alone in a business trip, I chose the restaurant closest to the hotel. The decoration of this small restaurant is interesting, modern without being crazy. The tables are a bit crowded, and it is hard to move without knocking down cutlery etc. The waiter (who also helped with the cooking) was very friendly.

Now for the food ... A few choices on the board were not available (I was the first client of the night) and this got worse after a few tables were served. My starter was a "tartare de betterave et noix avec un doigt de fee". The tartare was interesting, but I would not say very good. The "doigt de fee" (a sort of long samosa with cheese) was delicious, the best taste of the meal. As a main I chose the "blanquette d'agneau". The sauce was very thick, and incredibly bland. The cook must have forgotten the salt. "Fortunately", the lamb was not lamb but mutton, which gave a lot of taste.

The "cafe gourmand" was fine, with a nice lemon tart and chocolate samosa and some sort of very bland cream.

The wines (I drank two different glasses) were fine, without being particularly good.

The price was reasonable, so altogether it was not disastrous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atypik resto also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to L'Atypik resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing