We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must try this experience”

l'alliance des plaisirs
Ranked #7 of 1,388 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fait aussi atelier de cuisine
Mauritius
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You must try this experience”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The concept of tnis restaurant surprised us as the menu is already set you can choose from a seafood/fish dish and/or beef/duck or have both so we didn't know what to expect and felt frustrated at the beggining as we are not used to be restricted on a choice of menu. But then it all vanishes, as soon as you taste the mise en bouche, the entree you are already conquered, bravo to the chef, you are a real gifted person. All the meal, we chose the 4 course non seafood one as we are allergic, but i really don't know how to possiby absordca 5th course, we ate really well and felt spoiled by heaven, it was delicious, friendly and the different tastes mixed were a real revelation. Thank you for this delicious meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    74
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect evening-delicious food!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Perfect evening-wonderfully hosted, 4-course and 5-course menu to choose from-every course one of a kind, delicious and innovatively presented - 5-stars for food and hosting!

Helpful?
Thank tikus_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were staying at the Baudon de Mauny after enjoying 14 delightful days on the Canal du Midi. We were meant to be booked into La maison de la Lozere by our gracious hotel host, Alain, for our delayed 10 year wedding anniversary celebration (as we were on the Canal on the specific date). However time and distance from booking lead to the restaurant in question being closed on a Monday night.

So we asked for another recommendation. This was booked out, that had a private function, what about Chez Boris (we went there for lunch and wanted something a little bit grander). Why not just stroll the scenic alley ways and find your own restaurant. Don't get me wrong, this was all polite conversation, there was no problem. However, I said, but its our 10 year wedding anniversary, we wanted something special.

He said, wait a couple of minutes.... and voila. He recommended a small restaurant run by a young couple. They are not in the hotel's top 10 esteemed recommended restaurants, however, they possibly should be. He booked a table.

With map in hand we were entertained by a busy Monday in a young university city. Students were all over the place, enjoying a warm Autumn evening. There were many casual restaurants as we finally approached our destination. I said to my husband, well, we can always cancel the reservation if we don't like the place.

The restaurant is small, however, that added to the experience. The husband and wife team were delightful. We were given a complimentary glass of champagne as she had obviously heard of our dilemma for our anniversary. Lovely start to the evening.

We have learned in France that the French don't rush food, we wanted a special evening and definitely had one. We ordered the degustation menu. It was delightful. The wine list as others have mentioned is not extensive, but one thing we have learned, explain the style of wine you like and the french recommendation is nearly spot on each time. We had a lovely Chablis and very delectable Pinot Noir. Every course was a joy for our taste buds.

I am sure not everyone takes the simple pleasure of good food, good wine and good company with good customer service. Its a winner every time. We hope to return to this restaurant and beautiful city one day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OngoingVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal, set menu but all the flavours were spectacular. A lot of fun as well. Need to book as it is very small. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“One of our favourite meals in Montpellier!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant was fabulous - cozy atmosphere, wonderful chef and server, and amazing food! We had the 5 course tasting menu and each course was delicious and well presented. If you aren't famished I would recommend the 4 course set menu instead, as the portions are generous and you will be completely stuffed at the end. I am a vegetarian and the excellent chef was very accommodating to my needs. The server was also wonderful and a pleasure to talk to. Not only is the food delicious, but they also have a wonderful wine list. We will definitely make this a regular stop if we return to Montpellier!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'alliance des plaisirs also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to l'alliance des plaisirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing