We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book here!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Residence de Bionne
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't book here!”
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We expected this to be luxurious and in a rural setting. Instead, it is right off the highway and the first room that we were put in (and presumably all of the many rooms on that side of the hotel) had highway noises and views.

We arrived at 6:30 p.m. on Sunday after a long drive to find that the reception had closed at 6 p.m. (nothing on the website about that) and we had to get our key from a security guard who spoke no English. We had requested a room with two twin beds, but been given a room with one double, and the room had just a hand shower in the tub that was not mounted on the wall. The bedside lights did not work. We went back to the security and found a second guard there who had a bit more English and a bit more initiative, and he moved us to another room.

The restaurant, which is prominently featured on the website, is not open for dinner on Saturday or Sunday. So after we moved to the replacement room in the main house (much nicer), we drove into Montpellier for dinner. Of course, we had been counting on the hotel reception to provide us with a recommendation and that wasn't possible. We ended up getting a restaurant recommendation (and booking assistance) after we wandered into a hotel in the centre ville. It is also extremely confusing to get to and from the center of Montpellier from this hotel and (of course) there was nobody at the hotel to provide directions. On our way back, we were lost for an hour, till well after midnight.

The photos of the poolside and restaurant are shot in a creative way, but it is not at all as it appears. All in all, what was supposed to be the luxurious relaxing country chateau night of our trip was frustrating and disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    9
    7
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

After booking a room then reading the Trip Advisor reviews i was a bit apprehensive.. However, i was pleasently suprised.. The room was huge, the bed comfy and the shower was great.. It is a little distance from the centre of Montpellior, however it made it even closer to Pont du Gard in Remoulins.. Pont du Gard is amazing and totally breath taking.. A complete cleansing experience... I loved it..

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LexiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2007

What should have become a relaxing 7d stay in a nice and charming castel, turned out ot be a real disappointment!!! I just did not manage to feel comfortable in this hotel. Based on the information on the hotel's website and brochure of our travel agent, we thought that we had booked a really charming and luxurious hotel. And although we did pay the price for a 4-star luxury stay, we did not get what we paid for!!! The garden is not a park at all! 6 seats by the swimming pool are not enough to cover a hotel population of 29 rooms! There was no golf and the building in which are room was located, was surrounded by a wooden construction (don't ask me why), so that the view was completely messed up and we couldn't even enjoy the sun on our own terrace. The rooms were not clean at all (hair and dust in the rails of cupboards), the shower bar was rust and broken, bathroom wall full of mould. 1 time they just forgot to clean the room, 2 times they forgot to put fresh towels and the worst is yet to come: one day, when we came back from a daytrip, the door of our room was NOT CLOSED, they just forgot to lock our door after the cleaning! Luckily for us, everything was still there, but imagine what would have happened if our bank and credit cards would have been stolen!!! This really beats it all! How un-respectfull is that! And the only answer we received when complaining in the hotel was 'I am really sorry!' You know, I am really sorry too!!! About this holiday and especially about this hotel! We really feel cheated!!! They will never see us again!

  • Liked — near to Montpellier city
  • Disliked — cleanness of room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiekeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Picked up hire car at the Airport and took around 1 hour to locate the hotel, driving around Montpellier is a nightmare ! The Chateau would have been in a beautiful place over 50 years ago, now the motorway is very close and the noise carries all the time. We stayed in the annex the architecture of which can only be described as seriously wierd, don't they having planning here ? Anyway step inside and the room/suite was very nice, spacious and well equipped, the Chateau itself is an imposing building. Facilities are in short supply, no food/drink on Sundays/Mondays or bank holidays, the pool area is OK however it rained while we were there, the golf is,I think, a joke!
On the whole not bad considering all things, taxi to Montpellier is about £10/£12 and worth it to avoid the driving/parking issues.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Lack of communal bar / lounge area
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonerWolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We used an RCI Timeshare swop to book this hotel. The website pictures and blurb need to be taken with a pinch of salt. This hotel is on the industral outskirts of Montpellier and very close to a busy and noisy highway. Accommodation is split between the Chateau itself and a 4 storey annex. Our room in the annex was fairly spacious with a tiny bedroom area, lounge area and a useful kitchenette. The balcony was a great asset. We could not find the hotel address on any of our maps and we used Maporama to locate it. We drove around for over three hours from the Montpellier Station before we stumbled, totally exhausted, on it by pure chance. It was a Sunday night and the restaurant was closed. The very helpful staff directed us to the nearest restaurant, a golfing resort nearby. Understandably, we were rather nervous of venturing out in our hired car without a map. The hotel called an efficient cab service but we were gobsmacked by the cost of our return taxi fare. You definitely need a car and nerves of steel to head out of the hotel into the countryside which is a long drive in seriously congested traffic.
The acceptable, attractive accommodation was marred by a lack of cleanliness. The carpet was was badly stained. Furniture likewise. The staff however were delightful and most helpful. The Restaurant was above average with interesting well presented dishes. Visitors however need to be aware that this hotel really is out of the way unless you intend to vist Montpellier, which, once you find your way is probably no more than a 20 to 30 minute drive. If the beach is your preference, be prepared for a two hour return journey with major delays in peak hour - most of the day.

  • Liked — Reasonable size and layout
  • Disliked — cleanliness and location
  • Tips/Secrets — get a very detailed map before you arrive
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I only wish I'd read the reviews on this site before I booked to stay at what I can only describe as the french equivalent of Fawlty Towers. The website is so misleading I am going to write a letter of complaint to the french chamber of commerce/trading standards.

This is an overpriced apartment block miles from anywhere. We seriously felt like we were staying in a closed hotel and there only seemed to be one member of staff. The website shows a luxurious hotel with a beautiful pool and lots of leisure facilities including a golf course and fitness centre. There was no fitness centre or golf course and the pool was the size of a paddling pool. 10/10 for the photographer who made it look olympic size. It was also right next to a major motor way so sitting by the paddling pool was not 'tranquil' at all.

The restaurant was closed on the Sunday and Monday the only two nights we were - you could not even get lunch, a snack or a drink. We were told there was a Mcdonalds and a shop about 20 minutes walk down the lane! The nearest shop is Lidl on what looked like a french Council estate. We spent over 150 Euros on Taxis into Montpellier.

Disappointing was not the word me and my boyfriend felt like we had been completely conned. We tried to find another hotel for the 2nd night but everywhere was fully booked so we had to endure our second night there. When we checked out I asked to see the manager I was told she was busy. When I complined about the complete lack of services the receptionist simply agreed with me - she was clearly used to complaints! She then tried to tell me it was not a hotel but a residence. The room rate was 170 Euros per night we manged to get it down to 130 Euros but even then it was complete waste of money. Do not be even slightly tempted to go here this has to be the worst hotel in Montpellier.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 6, 2005

We were booked to stay for 7 nights but left after 3. Even though this meant us losing money we just had to get out. The pictures in the brochure make it look lovely - I'll never trust pictures again! The brochure says it's in a 'green wooded setting' - actually it's annoyingly close to a motorway (probably the least of its problems), with a few trees around it, but certainly no woods that you can reach.
Apparently it's 'overlooking vineyards' - not that I could see and I spent 3 long long days looking. 'Away from the city' is actually on the dirty outskirts so you are too far from the city centre for convinience but not near any nice countryside or villages. You REALLY DO need your own car - we spent a fortune on taxi's.
The restaraunt is supposed to feature 'authentic products from the region' - we never found out because it was either always fully booked or closed. The rooms are advertised as 'sunny suites' - ours hadn't seen the sunshine in it's life! We needed a torch to get the key in the door - no joke! On the subject of doors the bathroom door would not even shut. The mini-bar was a basket with a few overpriced bread sticks, peanuts and cans of drink.
The fitness suite was a shed with very little equipment in it. We never managed to find the bar. The putting course was overgrown and unplayable. There was also some bizarre wooden slatted structure around the second building that would prevent any escape in the event of a fire. The laundry room was out of order, the breakfast was desperately over priced for the poor food on offer, and served in an even more depressing room than the rest of the hotel.
On the plus side, the staff were actually quite freindly and reasonably helpfull, and the main building is quite nice - it's just spoilt by the location, the inside, and the fact that they advertise it as something it is definately not.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpellier
3.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#15 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abelia
Hotel Abelia
#20 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Disini
Hotel Disini
#1 of 3 in Castries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Prime
Hotel Prime
#2 of 10 in Saint-Jean-de-Vedas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Residence de Bionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Residence de Bionne

Property: Chateau Residence de Bionne
Address: 1225 rue de Bionne, 34070, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Residence de Bionne 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Chateau Residence de Bionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Residence De Bionne Hotel Montpellier
Chateau Residence De Bionne Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing