We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

My girlfriend and I had booked this hotel on the middle of a roadtrip. It turned out to be much better than we thought and we actually decided to take a resting day and skip most of the sightseeing in Montpellier, because we felt we really had a chance to rest our head & feet here. TV, tub, aircondition, nice staff & excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    151
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
41
145
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We had a pleasant long weekend at this hotel. We had a very large room (unusual for a city). It retained many features including a very grand old bathroom with a separate toilet. Unfortunately there was no shower which made it difficult for us ladies to wash our hair. The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and the air conditioning worked fine. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of cafes in and around the square where you can have breakfast cheaper. As is usual in France there is no kettle, tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but a nice touch is a water machine on the first floor where you can get both cold and hot drinking water to make your own drinks and a snack machine. As mentioned before the hotel is close to the main square and the Gare St Roch. There is a tram stop at both so you can get anywhere although we walked everywhere as it is not a big city. It's not without its problems. The area around the hotel is not that nice and it is quite dirty in places. There are a lot of homeless people with dogs and drink and drug problems are apparent. We were approached everyday by beggars. There are pigeon problems in the square. If you eat outside (we did) they hang around the tables and if the waiters are not quick to clear empty tables they are on them. We saw 2 in a bread basket ! That said we had a pleasant weekend, despite the euro it's not as expensive as Paris or Lille for example. The weather was fab reaching 30 degrees everyday and warm enough to go out at night without a jacket.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soozysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel offers everything you need business and personal travel. Great location and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasPetalpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, W Yorks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel suited our need perfectly. We were in Montpellier during le tour, so it was busy and accom was in demand!

We upgraded to a larger room, and it was very spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast was nothing spectacular - we only tried breakfast once and then decided to eat out thereafter. Small lobby - but if you're going to a city, chances are you're spending more of your time away from the hotel anyhow...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

This hotel is not only very close to the main square of Montpellier, it's also very close to a parking that offers significant discounts to hotel guests. The hotel is quiet, rooms are large, and service is well attentionate..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurentmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

This hotel couldn't be closer to the station yet was remarkably quiet. Staff were good and allowed us to store our bags until our train later on after we had checked out. Ideally located for exploring Montpellier and was fairly reasonably priced. We didn't have the breakfast as there's lots of places in the area that serve breakfast for cheaper, as is often the case.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snaphappyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Great location at the heart of the town, the hotel had some charm, but no room service, a broken lift and no help with bags up 4 flights of stairs. The room was big and pleasant enough

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 8 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing