We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we stayed here one night as it was close to the train station. the rooms are very clean, very well appointed and HUGE...the staff was outstanding anf everything is very close by....we will return to the city and this hotel, it was that good....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tml1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed in this part of France before and finding a decent but inexpensive hotel down here seems to be difficult to do. I quite liked The Royal though. I paid about £65 for one night and thought that it was worth that amount. The room itself was certainly acceptable and I liked that there was WiFi (with the password provided in the room), a very nice bathroom and a large flat screen TV. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant and the location (close to the train station and the centre of town) was very good. The only down note I would mention is that the breakfast is probably not worth the cost (about 8 Euros) and the price didn't seem to be clearly pointed out until checkout (I could have asked though!). Not to worry though as there are plenty of places nearby to pick up breakfast for less. Overall though I would recommend this hotel as a quality budget option if staying in Montpellier.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BosunGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is very well located, just a short walk from the train station. The man who greeted us on our arrival was very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms, a three bed and a double. They were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The triple room had a hand held shower over the bath which our tall family had difficulty with but the double room had a walk in shower that we shared. We didn't try the breakfast - we bought delicious pastries from the nearby Monoprix bakery instead.
This hotel is also very close to the trams and main pedestrian area of Montpellier. Lots of restaurants and lovely shops nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellypippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Overall a simple hotel that is a couple of blocks from the train station and close to the main plaza. The hotel staff was polite and helpful. Our room was a bit dated, but clean. Ask about the bathroom configuration. We didn't do this and ended up with a bathtub, which is a deal breaker for us. The bed was comfortable, but dated bed linens. The hotel sits on a fairly busy street with many young people, traffic and trolleys. It is busy and loud during the day, but calms down at night. There is a restaurant, which we did not try. there are plenty of cafe's and restaurants within walking distance. This is not a quiet and quaint hotel. It is an average hotel that was ok for a couple of nights. Probably wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy if your room is above the street.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euroboundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found the staff to be very friendly. The room was very old with a musty smell but very clean.
The elevator is tiny, if there is more than one of you with a suitcase you will need to make multiple trips. Breakfast basic but good (not really much fresh fruit though).
Parking not too far away and at a reduced rate for hotel guests.
Shower was difficult, it's a hand held one so washing your hair is hard and it's nearly impossible not to spray water of the floor.
Free wifi. No fridge, no safe.
Good location. Avoid the overpriced and not great food in the nearby square. Ask hotel for recommendations instead.
Room was old but comfortable enough, so was the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived from the train station down the hill at this hotel for one night. It was very centrally situated but it could do with a bit of an overhaul...quite shabby and old fashioned. The room was over the main street and was adequate (not sure if the little balconies were safe to stand on however!). We had a good sleep but were woken up by the most horrendous noise coming from outside...so loud we thought we were being invaded but it turned out to be the garbage collection but still quite a shock as it was very loud and very early. The best part of this hotel was the front desk staff who were very friendly and very helpful. We arrived after dark and asked for a recommendation to a restaurant and were given three....we went to the first one fearing we had been sent to a 'tourist' place only to discover the most wonderful and classy restaurant in which we had a delightful meal...fish being the main focus here (Andromaque).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieB634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here the previous year and we were not disappointed! We were staying in the City for just a couple of nights before travelling down the coast to our final holiday destination, we arrived on the TGV service from Paris and found the hotel easily within a few minutes walk from the station. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, and this impressive service continued throughout our stay. The family room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is well positioned for access to the centre of the city, the main square and the shopping areas. We utilise the restaurant, but the free WiFi was a welcome bonus. We would definitely use this hotel again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone else who is visiting Montpellier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
118 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
286 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 8 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: $99 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing