We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Seemed to be Right Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The staffs at this hotel were certainly not trained to handle anything other than assigning you a basic room. If you reported any issue/problem, they all behaved like you had done something wrong and became rude to you. In the bathroom, you get only one tiny soap, so if you use it for the sink, you won't have one for your shower. And the little shower gel they provide to you is hardly enough for one person. The hair dryer is mounted in the closet, such that when you are drying your hair, you cannot look at yourself in the mirror for the most part. The wifi connection in the room was painfully slow. We cut our stay here short and moved elsewhere. When we left, the front desk person did not even say "thank you" or "goodby". BTW, the on site restaurant servers have the exact same attitude.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms. However, this is a typical Marriott Court Yard where presumably, it’s not a company owned but a franchised operation. That being said, it’s been our experience as Gold rewards members, that less of the perks you expect will be offered. Caution for Gold members and Platinum members! No free breakfast will be offered and forget the upgrade to a room with a balcony because the balcony rooms are on the noisy public square side of the hotel. Some of the staff were pleasant, but the staff checking us in was simply not familiar with customer service and argued with us over offerings and details. As a result we will not return to this hotel. Parking is a pain as their security is unnecessarily high and you need to pass through 3 gates to get into the underground parking area, after paying an expected 12 Euros. Also, the fun and lively area of the city, we’re 100s of excellent restaurants exist, is an inconvenient mile or so walk. There’s very little to do immediately near the hotel as it’s surrounded by busy streets and offices. Next visit we’ll find a hotel nearer the city center, even if we don’t get the Marriott reward credits.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice if you don't mind more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribbeanlovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We used this as a stop over from Barcelona to Provence.
It was just what we needed. It was clean and the front desk was friendly.
FYI-There is no one really familiar with suggestions for restaurants or touring. It would be helpful if they had a concierge.
It is a good stop for on and off major highway but not to the historic part of the city. It is across the street from the street car, which is easy to follow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very comfortable and clean and modern Marriott product. Clean safe area of the city with
all the amenities you expect from Marriott.
BUT...get he address right before you try and find it. The address that appears on google is not correct AND the hotel front desk is aware of this!

Room Tip: Make sure you have the right address BEFORE you start looking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently made a pair of one night stays here traveling to and from Barcelona. Both evenings were wonderful and the property is both flawlessly setting a very high standard on behalf of Courtyard (I'm a bit of a Marriott loyalist) and allowing for local touch, e.g. though the hotel restaurant is the "Crazy Olive" brand used at other Courtyards in Europe, there was an extensive, and very good, local menu. The (fairly new) property and facilities are immaculate, parking is easy, the rooms very comfortable and the property is easy walking distance to the Europlatz (sp?) and the associated dining. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzco97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean, quiet, tasteful decor in a great location. On Bastille day there was a huge "firemans ball" celebration in the square out front, the management had signs apologizing for any noise, but we didn't hear a peep from our room! Plus, our rooms had a perfect view of the fieworks show. The rooms were spacious and comfortable over looking the Le Lez. The hotel is walking distance to lots of restaurants and sights. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this Courtyard Marriott so we could attend the Friday city party which is every Friday in the summer. An easy tram connection (15 min) to the Comedie station for the festival. Best of all, after a long night the hotel has a nice spa where we had a massage to recover. Nice pool, and friendly staff. It is outside the old city, so if you want rustic this is not the hotel for you. It is modern and upscale.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.8 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
869 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
483 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Marriott Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Montpellier

Address: 105 Place Georges Freche, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: $99 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Marriott Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montpellier located directly next to the City Hall of Montpellier designed by star architect Jean Nouvel, and just a few steps away from lively shops and nice restaurants in downtown Montpellier. The historical Center, the Convention Center, the Fabre museum and all other local city attractions of central Montpellier are just a few tramway stops away. At this Montpellier Courtyard by Marriott hotel, we know how to treat travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing