We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent steak!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Boris

Chez Boris
Reserve with
Chez Boris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,285 Restaurants in Montpellier
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CHEZ BORIS ESPLANADE, brasserie typique avec une spécialité : la viande de boeuf ! Membres d'une coopérative de bouchers, nous recevons nos carcasses entière que nous découpons sur place. Nos morceaux de choix sont mûrit pour obtenir une tendreté et un goût exceptionnels. Frites maison cuites dans la graisse de boeuf, tartare haché minute. Tous nos produits sont de saisons. Notre devise : pas de tomates en hiver ! Bon appétit et vive les bonnes choses !
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We ate there as a group of about 16 of us. We had a pre-set menu. It was a lunch and the food was excellent. Starter of Ancras was very tasty - and the beef stew was delicious. Great ambiance - and nice service. We were in the back of the restaurant and it was great for a group. The decor is fun..lots of chalkboards to write on and add to. In the nicer weather they also have outdoor seating on the Espalande - and it looked lovely!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    237
    80
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here several times while in Montpellier for an extended visit. It seems to cater to meat-eaters with a large appetite. The food was good -- somewhat reminiscent of the "bouchons" in Lyon -- large servings of good food, but not "haute cuisine," for the most part. The wine was good, as was the service, and the ambience was very pleasant: cozy and warm on a cold, wet day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
370 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Not at all impressed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ended up here because on Sunday night in Montpelier most restaurants are closed or at least they were when we visited and the first three that we tried did not have a table available. This is a very cosy, well located bistro that showed great promise which unfortunately was not realised. The daily menu on the face of it looked good but turned out to be uninspiring. Service was slow, both kitchen and FOH, and the two underemployed serving staff managed to make so many errors in providing a simple meal that they actually became embarrassed. Food was not great, in fact very unimpressive, and overpriced. The wine was good but expensive for what it was.
All in all this was not an experience that I would wish to repeat. Having now read previous reviews it would seem beef would have been a safe option although on the day we went the beef offering was not particularly impressive either. On reflection it is not surprising that Chez Boris was almost empty, local opinion is obviously quite discerning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good steak, a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We found this restaurant via the Montpellier Office de Tourisme site listings for restaurants and were not disappointed. The steaks were good and cooked perfectly, although a little pricey. We ate here for lunch and both ordered a steak at 20Euro. They came served with the chips and green leafy salad. The wine was good but also a little pricey. The atmosphere was warm and cosy, the staff were friendly and we had a good table despite walking in with no reservation on a fairly busy day. I would recommend this restaurant for a good steak meal, but hesitate to return only because of the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthFrenchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant for beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The menu changes each day but features a varieties of different cuts. Wonderful informative staff (especially if you are not completely knowledgeable about French cuts of beef) can explain to you which cut is best for your tastes. The service is absolutely perfect. The steaks are wonderful - cooked to perfection. The salads and fries are also absolutely fantastic. The wine list is also great (and get a dessert too). We came with our baby and the staff was just absolutely fantastic from start to finish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheinwald049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Boris also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Chez Boris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing