We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't leave hungry”
Review of Chez Boris

Chez Boris
Reserve with
Chez Boris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 1,404 Restaurants in Montpellier
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: Diner, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here several times while in Montpellier for an extended visit. It seems to cater to meat-eaters with a large appetite. The food was good -- somewhat reminiscent of the "bouchons" in Lyon -- large servings of good food, but not "haute cuisine," for the most part. The wine was good, as was the service, and the ambience was very pleasant: cozy and warm on a cold, wet day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    248
    84
    50
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
381 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Not at all impressed.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ended up here because on Sunday night in Montpelier most restaurants are closed or at least they were when we visited and the first three that we tried did not have a table available. This is a very cosy, well located bistro that showed great promise which unfortunately was not realised. The daily menu on the face of it looked good but turned out to be uninspiring. Service was slow, both kitchen and FOH, and the two underemployed serving staff managed to make so many errors in providing a simple meal that they actually became embarrassed. Food was not great, in fact very unimpressive, and overpriced. The wine was good but expensive for what it was.
All in all this was not an experience that I would wish to repeat. Having now read previous reviews it would seem beef would have been a safe option although on the day we went the beef offering was not particularly impressive either. On reflection it is not surprising that Chez Boris was almost empty, local opinion is obviously quite discerning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good steak, a little pricey”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We found this restaurant via the Montpellier Office de Tourisme site listings for restaurants and were not disappointed. The steaks were good and cooked perfectly, although a little pricey. We ate here for lunch and both ordered a steak at 20Euro. They came served with the chips and green leafy salad. The wine was good but also a little pricey. The atmosphere was warm and cosy, the staff were friendly and we had a good table despite walking in with no reservation on a fairly busy day. I would recommend this restaurant for a good steak meal, but hesitate to return only because of the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthFrenchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant for beef”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The menu changes each day but features a varieties of different cuts. Wonderful informative staff (especially if you are not completely knowledgeable about French cuts of beef) can explain to you which cut is best for your tastes. The service is absolutely perfect. The steaks are wonderful - cooked to perfection. The salads and fries are also absolutely fantastic. The wine list is also great (and get a dessert too). We came with our baby and the staff was just absolutely fantastic from start to finish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheinwald049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“It's all about the beef”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came to Chez Boris Esplanade for a good steak, and that's what we got, it was excellent. The meat is accompanied by bowls of fries and a plain green salad. I did not particularly care for the fries which seemed to have been cooked in beef fat, but others in our party were happy with them. For dessert we chose tarte fine aux pommes, it was served simply and unadorned, but was excellent. Service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Boris also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Chez Boris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing