We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable, characterful and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Montpellier
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Comfortable, characterful and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you're looking for something quirky and different but with a high standard of comfort, cleanliness and service then this may well fit the bill. Its a lovely part of the old town, only about 10 minutes walk from the Place de la Comedie and with plenty of bars and restaurants around. We had a superior room on the first floor overlooking a courtyard restaurant and there was plenty of space and a good sized bathroom. We thought it was excellent value for money and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    143
    44
    21
    6
See reviews for
34
144
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed only one night in this very nice hotel. It's in the old town and quite a trek from the railway station, mostly uphill. The welcome was warm and the room was well furnishedand comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower. The breakfast on the terrace was good and not rushed. It advertises free wifi but this was very slow and although the receptionist rebooted the system it made no difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although this hotel might not be the cheapest in Montpellier when its facillities alone are considered (we found the antique sideboard entirely practical) it must represent the best value if having excellent restaurants and cafes within a stone's throw is important. "Le Volodia", L'Arc, and "Latitude" must be mentioned. Add to that a ten minute stroll down the main shopping area (pedestrianised) through the "Centre Historique" to the "Centre de Comedie" (big people watching square) and I believe you've got the most ideally situated hotel for a short "city break".
Breakfasts were a bit expensive so we walked 70 metres to L'Arc cafe and had coffee and croissant (gorgeous) for three euros!
Sunday we felt in need of execise after too much good living so bought a picnic in the market hall and hired bikes at ten euros each for the day from "Holiday Bikes" next to the "Gare St Roch" railway station. Twelve Kilometres later we were on the beach at "Palavas les Flots". Best day of our break - designated, flat, metalled, cycle way alongside a river all the way to Palavas. Make sure you pick a soft saddle if you're not used to cycling!
There seem to be hundreds of silver coloured "Velomag" cycles to hire all over the city but you need a french phone and charge card to hire them - hence search out "Holiday Bikes".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrambler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel le Guilham. Service was cheerful and friendly, the room beautifully appointed with a window opening onto the terrace. The garden is green, the air from the flowers fresh.
The rooms are small, but we managed to manipulate our suitcases.
For a short stay, this is a hotel in a good location. There is a good boulangerie a few steps up the street. The arc de trio one is close by. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful small hotel... fantastic service, great charm, great breakfast, great location. Would come back to Montpellier for le Guilhem alone! What else to add to get to the 200 character minimum... we loved our room which we accessed through a spiral tower staircase... the windows looked out over the breakfast terrace which is shaded by lovely trees and a nearby church tower which chimes the hours (not too loudly). The reception person (Yohan?), solo at the desk, was able to perform many jobs at once, impeccably.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marseille-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just spent a week at the Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem in Montpellier. First off, don't let the "Best Western" name lead you to believe that you're in for a generic US hotel experience. This is a small, charming French hotel blending in perfectly with its beautiful, restaurant-rich neighborhood in the historic district.
It's better than being immediately by Place de La Comedie because it's quieter yet still just a 5- to 10-minute walk to the plaza.
Our room was large, well-decorated and had a view of Montpellier Cathedral through a garden of cypress trees.
Service was friendly and very helpful, including advice on day trips and transportation connections.
I took a look at some of the negative reviews here. All I can say is that maybe we got an exceptional room based on our longer stay. That said, we paid the standard rate.
Also, if you're unwilling to take an inexpensive cab ride from the train station, then of course you won't be happy with the 15-minute uphill walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtrekker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Agree with the reviewer below that it is a hot walk uphill from the station (but not too steep), but to find this hotel in the charming back streets of the old part of the city was super. We stayed for one night at the start of our holiday and one night at the end, because of the TGV connection to Paris. The quiet location of the hotel but right in the city centre is good with loads of restaurants and bars nearby. A taxi is an option and it could have driven very nearby, but then we wouldn't have had the interest of seeing the city on arrival.
Our room for the first night was in an annexe a couple of doors up the road, but this was equally fine and the receptionist helped with the luggage without being asked. The rooms are adequate with good sized modern bathrooms with everything you need. Aircon was useful and quiet, unlike in some hotels. The breakfast of bread and pastries was all we needed, but you could have had extras for an additional cost, it was nice to sit outside in the courtyard having breakfast.
Montpellier is a vibrant city which is easy to walk around in and well worth a day or two visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 86 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#10 of 86 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 86 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 86 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#11 of 86 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem
Address: 18 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Jardin des plantes, place de la Canorgue and the Peyrou promenade.The BEST WESTERN Hôtel Le Guilhem offers you a welcoming comfort in a sixteenth-century house renewed with style and taste. Each room has a specific ambience and decoration. Most windows have a lovely outlook on the secret little gardens of the town and the prestigious faculty of medicine established during the twelfth century.In the early morning a delicious breakfast is generously served on the terrace viewing Saint-Pierre cathedra, afterward the town of Montpellier is yours ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HRS and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Guilhem Hotel
Le Guilhem Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing