We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cute hotel in the heart of Montpellier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A cute hotel in the heart of Montpellier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

I live in Montpellier, and booked a room in this hotel for my parents when they came to visit me. They were here over Christmas, so the staff was reduced and not many people were here, but the service was still great. The man and woman working there didn't speak very much English, and my parents speak no French so I was in charge of communication; I would recommend knowing at least basic French if you stay here, although my parents managed to order breakfast without me.

The room was small, but clean, and was nicely painted. There were fresh flowers in the room, even in December, and the owner would ask me each day if they were wilted at all and if she should replace them.

The location is wonderful, right next to a rose garden and up the street from the cathedral St. Pierre. It is at the top of a hill and a bit of a walk from the closest tram stop (Albert 1ere) and Place de la Comedie with luggage. The hotel offered free wi-fi and a rather large, albeit expensive, breakfast.

The service was absolutely exceptional, and the owner was very friendly, often chattering to my parents although they couldn't understand a word she said. I loved how it was tucked away from busy streets, but the walk up hill was difficult, so I would recommend a taxi to and from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    75
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
70
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is a cute little hotel in a great location in the old town. The owner is lovely, and so is her dog. The rooms are a little small, though some of the front rooms have quite a nice spacious feel. The breakfast is good too, though the delicious croissants are a little on the small side.

You will not find a better priced hotel in Montpellier.

They have a good deal with a local parking station if you are driving, which is also very affordable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel du Palais for 3 nights over a weekend and would happily recommend this hotel. The staff were always friendly, polite and helpful. Only one person spoke English but that was not a problem for us. We had made our booking by email and had no problems at all, everything was clear and simple.

Our room was artistically decorated (see photos) and a little quirky, which we liked. The bed was wonderful, one of the best we’ve ever found in a hotel, with plenty of support but with a deep soft top layer you sink into. OK, there were a few chips in the countertop in the bathroom a a couple of dodgy tiles but the fun friendly feel of this hotel more than makes up for that. If you want dull perfection, stay in a modern chain hotel.

Loads of good towels and wash-mits provided. Excellent water pressure even on the top floor. Fresh flowers in the room and plenty of lights. You may want to keep the windows closed at night; as you might expect in any vibrant city, some people roll home late from the bars and cafes in the centre. Fortunately, the air-conditioning is quiet and we didn’t hear anyone in the adjacent rooms so soundproofing must be good.

The hotel is in a great position in the quiet, picturesque and sophisticated quarter, close to shops like Hugo Boss, but it’s not expensive. The square around the corner (place de la Canourgue) is a pleasant grassy area surrounded by trees and several cafes. Try Café Teo; good food & coffee and 2 lovely little dogs. Also try Restaurant le Pastis on rue Terral near St Anne’s Church; wonderful food and the owner pays great attention to detail.

Would we go back? Yes, definitely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaMoonBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel itself was average for a 2-star, but the location in the center of the old city was excellent. Had a problem with some 'mis-communication' regarding breakfast and got nowhere with the unfriendly owner/manager. Other staff were good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerrypatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

This hotel was just plain ok. Not amazing, not terrible. Adequate is the right word. Nice staff, cute cat, great free internet connection, mediocre breakfast. In sum, we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Just off one of the most delightful squares in Montpellier, the Place de la Canourgue, this small, authentic, family run hotel is a good choice. The rooms are basic, but still comfortable. The French owner is very helpful and accommodating. She made me feel special and was concerned that my room was to my liking. I was the only non- French speaking guest - it seems to be frequented by French tourists, for the most part. Even in October, the hotel was full.
The young man who works the reception desk is friendly, kind and helpful, and speaks wonderful English. My room had a small balcony with shutters and a view of the sidewalk cafe and tall beautiful trees across the way. Delightful. It was cool at night and the heat came on as needed. The bathroom had an adequate shower and was well lit. The room was clean. The towels were fresh and fluffy. The breakfast for 11 euros was very nice and served from 7:30 to 11:30- wide range - so you have it available when you wish.
A special treat was the little senior dog ( 16 years old) who is hard of hearing and has poor sight - he putters around, and can be found snoring in the afternoon, on his bed in the corner.
While it may seem at the other end of town when viewing the map, the walk from the train station took about 15 minutes and wasn't an issue for me. It was nice to stay away from the high tourist areas. This hotel was worth the 72euros I paid and I will stay again if in Montpellier.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cordelia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Small and nice hotel in the center of Montpellier. Very kind host.

Nice breakfase on the table outside

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sankazim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem
#24 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 3 rue du Palais, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Palais 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Hotel Du Palais Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing