We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sophisticated- boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arceaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arceaux
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sophisticated- boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We reserved 8 rooms of varying sizes for our son's wedding. The hotel staff was more than accommodating with assistance from lost luggage, taxi services, restaurant recommendations and walking excursions from the hotel. There is a really nice street market Saturday morning with fresh foods and local products for sale. The rooms are small- but very comfortable with a compact bathroom - but awesome shower (high end toiletries ). There is Free Wifi in the room with no complicated password or calling the front desk to make it work. The whole building is wi fi. The petit dejeuner which is 9.5 euros is excellent- juices, cheese, great breakfast pastries, yogurt, granola etc. This is our second time at this hotel. There is street parking which is free as well as a garage close by. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nowayfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    72
    13
    13
    5
See reviews for
34
99
20
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allerød
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 nights at Hotel des Arceaux very much. Nice welcome, very good room (triple) no. 102, which had just been refurbished.
Wonderful garden, where breakfast is served, if the weather permits.
Staff is helpful - and we would certainly book this hotel again if coming to Montpellier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. The room was small but well put together. The bathroom was well appointed. It took a bit to figure out the shower levers, but after a bit of exploration, all was well. The staff were helpful and charming. The breakfast was worth the 9.5 euros, especially on warm mornings when we were in the garden, which is a real asset of this hotel. You have to be prepared for a small space, but we found it pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden are more quiet; those facing the street have nice little balconies. Neit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPLCORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by a friend so we booked on that basis also having read TA reviews.
Although it has only 2 stars it feels almost like a boutique hotel with its Pocelanosa fittings in the bathroom, a very comfortable bed and wi-fi. The room, whilst it is bijou is well laid out and there is a pretty garden to eat a good and ample continental breakfast.
The service we received during our stay was excellent. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and even found and booked another hotel room as they had no vacancies for our last night.
Whilst the hotel is a little far away -approx 15 min walk from the centre, overall it is fantastic value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasterberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel in a great city. The room we had was quite small but beautifully appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was top quality - it even had flowers and Fragonnard toiletries! The breakfast is not cheap but delicious. a huge plate of fresh fruit and an enormous selection of pastries all is a gorgeous tropical garden. If you want laid back, good location and a touch of romance this is hotel to choose. Please don't be put off by some of the more negative reviews!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaramayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel des Arceaux for 5 nights in July 2012. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood about 15 minutes walk into the town centre. The rooms are compact but lovely, The beds are comfy and we had lots of good night's sleep. The bathrooms were compact but clean and the showers were good. One of the best things about the hotel is the garden. It's a tropical oasis of palm trees, trickling water and shady tables and chairs. We had a wonderful breakfast for 9euros each. A mountain of pastries, croissants, rolls with jams and butter, juice, fruit and yogurt coffee and tea. The best breakfast we had throughout our trip. It was also nice to come and sit in the garden late afternoon/early evening for a chilled glass of Rose wine...utter bliss. Would definately recommend the hotel if you don't mind a small room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Situated 10-15 minute walk away from the main town area is this lovely hotel which is housed in a delightful historic building.
The surrounding area seems to be suburban residential, with many hairdressers and business 's. The immediate local area lacked shops and places to eat. None the less in good weather it is a pleasant stroll into town and the bus stop is just opposite the hotel.
The station is about a 20 minute walk or longer through town. My advise - take a cab or bus. We walked, dragging luggage thinking the hotel was fairly close, however this proved tedious!
We spent 3 nights here in a very modern, newly renovated triple room looking out on to the ancient arches of the Arceaux Viaduct.
The room was fairly small by Australian standards, but big for what we found in France. It was a suitable size for 3 people. Everything in it was clean, new, warm and very welcoming. In mid winter, this was delightful! There was also a small mini bar fridge but sadly no tea/ coffee making facilities. However they gladly filled my thermos for me when needed.
The bright orange bathroom was cheery, spotless, super modern and a luxury when traveling. For people with limited mobility caution is needed with the bath, as it is deep and one has to step into it for a shower.
Pascal was the most accommodating host giving us well needed tourist information on the area and information on local buses etc. We didn't have breakfast here however it is available for an extra charge. We enjoyed cups of tea in the common area overlooking the beautiful garden.
We booked via the hotel and got a good rate - better than booking sites. We loved it and would highly recommend a stay here.
Sipping coffee or Vin Chard in one of the many bars in town is a must thing to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Eurociel
BEST WESTERN Eurociel
#1 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel d'Aragon
Hotel d'Aragon
#26 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#13 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arceaux

Property: Hotel des Arceaux
Address: 33 - 35 bd des Arceaux, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#10 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arceaux 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Boutique Hotel*** at 5 minutes walking from the heart of Montpellier, 10 minutes by Tram from the train station, near restaurants, shopping, the law courts, the Garden of the Peyrou, Montpellier Sup Agro, INRA, Universities. This lovely hotel offers you the opportunity to discover the original charm of a traditional French town House in a warm environment and a sophisticated atmosphere. The Hotel des Arceaux is an ideal base for those who wish to discover one of the most beautiful French cities, visit the region or be at the centre of artistic, cultural or economic events. No-smoking hotel. Labels: - Qualite Herault - Sud de France - Qualite Tourisme - Small Standard room (12m2). Double bed (140x190cm) view on the garden, bathroom & toilettes. - Classik room shower (14m2 to 17m2) Double bed (140x190cm) or 2 twin beds (90x190cm). Personnal and design decoration, our Classics rooms are tastefully decorated combining contemporary design with features such as the tradionnal parquet floor. - Large superior room (20m2 to 25m2) Queen size bed (160cm*200) and 1 single bed (for 3 persons) . - Individual heat/air-conditioning control - Design Shower,Toilettes - Flat TV screen - Hairdryer - Hydrojet shower in certain room. Rooms (Standard) Economic bedroom, Basic decoration. - Individual heat/air-conditioning control - Double bed (140cmx200cm) or twin beds (90cm*200cm) - Shower and Toilettes - TV and Phone All of our rooms are equipped of - Individual heat/air-conditioning control - Canal Plus, CNN, numeric TV via satellite - Phone (with wake-up call facility) - WiFi Internet access - Minibar - No-smoking room Useful information: CHEK-IN: 15h to 24h. CHEK-OUT: 12h Breakfast is served from 7.15 AM to 12 AM. In the nice garden or into the living room and can be taken either in your room without extra charge. Diner: Lights meals are also available (7.00 PM to 10.30 PM) PARKING: PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING LOT: The hotel rent private parking places. Rate:7,00 Euros/day (Booking needed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Arceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arceaux Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing