We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the most wonderful owners and staff we have experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
1 review
“one of the most wonderful owners and staff we have experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

The Hotel Ulysse is a delightful stay in the lovely city of Montpellier, France. Its rooms were lovely and its location is within walking distance of the central city. The most memorable part of our stay was the interaction with the friendly and helpful staff,including owner Madame Frederick and staff member Joanna. They helped guide us to local restaurants, arranged transportation, and went out of there way to research and make hotel reservations for our Barcelona stop. We had not originally planned to stay in Montpellier, but found it to be a vibrant university city full of things to see and do, including concerts of famous musical talent. The city is worth a 3 or 4 day stay, and we plan to return some day and definitely stay at yhe Ulysse.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    89
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
88
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

In a residential neighbourhood, 10-15 minutes walk to the centre.
Quaint but nice room, clean and ok.
French breakfast which means air and coffee...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corvette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

This hotel isn't bad. The outside of the hotel looks very run down, but once you go inside, it's quite nice. The lobby is trendy with nice wood floors, and the proprietors are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine, not too clean, not too dirty. Plain, simple. There's a mini-fridge and plenty of hot water with good water pressure. The accomodations are quite good in relation to the cheep price.
It's not in old town, or what what you'd think of as historic Montpellier, but it's very close, perhaps a 10 minute walk. The area in which it's located is somewhat questionable. It's primarily residential. I wouldn't walk around after dark, but it seemed fine during the day. The hotel has tight security and you can park your car in a private underground parking lot that requires a keycode to enter. The one major benefit of the hotel's location is that it's very easy do drive to. I shudder at the thought of navigating my way through old town Montpellier in a car, but getting to the Hotel Ulysse is very easy.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Voyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

We found this hotel to be an excellent value for the money. The location is close enough to tram lines or easy walk to town centre. It might seem like a bit of an odd location in a residential neighbourhood but it is quiet and safe and a welcome respite from noisier hotels near Place de la Comedie. An excellent boulangerie around the corner too! We found the rooms to be a generous size, clean and pleasantly decorated. Bed was comfy, side tables and chair in the room. Proprieters were helpful and pleasant.

  • Liked — Pleasant room in a quiet location.
  • Disliked — A large industrial dumpster right outside the hotel entrance! (hope it has been moved!)
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

This is fine - it took us awhile to find it and initially my reaction was - what the heck. No, the hotel is in a fine residential neigborhood - it is safe to walk around at night. (It was just that some of the houses look a bit old and huge construction on one of the rooms with some old cars parked near it so it gave one an impression of a very run-down neigborhood but it is not).

It is not in the city center but it is a very easy short walk to the city center The room is fine, of goo size, no A/C. The only thing is that the mini fridge makes quite a bit of noise - quite annoying.

The hotel has secure parking for its guest for a few euros per night.

This is not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2003

Hotel a little away from the main square yet an easy walk to a tram stop or to the old town. Very reasonably priced for its standard (have previously paid 30% more in the centre for a lesser standard) and has its own small terrace and garden. Rooms are a decent size though the bathroom although spotlessly clean, would not pass the cat swinging test. Lack of air conditioning in rooms can make it uncomfortable in the hottest months. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very basic and ordinarily has to be ordered the previous night. Secure parking for those travelling by car. Montpellier is a good base for other nearby towns of interest (eg Nimes and Avignon).

Helpful?
11 Thank ShropshireBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2002

The two-storey Ulysse is situated in a quiet residential area of Montpellier, yet it takes just 20 minutes to walk to the town centre. It is good value at just over 53 euros a night for a double room (as at October 2002). Breakfast (orange juice, cornflakes, baguette, croissant, jams, and tea/coffee is extra at around 6 euros). The housekeeping was of a good standard, and the staff were friendly. Our room was a reasonable size, and decorated in muted tones. The bathroom, however, was tiny (and the sliding door to it was temperamental). The smallest bath we've seen! Perhaps it's better to think of it as a very deep shower tray (though there was no wall bracket for the shower attachment). The front of the loo was just a foot or so from the wall, making its use something of a challenge. Although the hotel claims to be a non-smoking establishment, the previous occupants of our room had smoked (and had been provided with an ashtray). Unfortunately, no other rooms were available. The "mini-bar" was a small fridge containing water, cola, fizzy orange and beer. No in-room tea/coffee-making facilities. The only real complaint was the plastic mattress cover! While we appreciate the hotel's need to keep mattresses in good condition, it is not pleasant to sleep on and just had to go. All in all, though, we recommend it.

Helpful?
5 Thank Enigmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
0.5 mi away
Ibis Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre

Property: Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre
Address: 338 avenue de Saint Maur, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#6 Family Hotel in Montpellier
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulysse Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing