We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly French.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ma Chambre d'Hotes a Montpellier
Ranked #11 of 44 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charmingly French.....”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ma chambre is a cosy "very French" B&B in Montpellier. Situated very close to everything - and within walking distance to the inner city. Very nice, clean rooms, decorated in a southern France style. Beautiful courtyard/garden where breakfast is served if weather permits. Caroline & Bernard are very friendly and welcoming, and very accommodating - everything is possible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
32
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you're looking for a B&B in Montpellier, or simply if you're tired of hotels and are looking for something different, you could try Ma chambre d'hôtes à Montpellier. The B&B is located in a larger building, sharing space with other tenants, which means you have to cross three doors to reach it: the front door, a second door which leads to the garden and finally the door to the B&B. This can be a problem when first arriving but the owner, Madame Térisse, will communicate with you upon reservation and assure you that she (or someone else) is present on your arrival, at which point she'll hand you the keys to the three doors. I think there are only four or five rooms in the B&B. Mine was a large, high-ceilinged, well decorated room with a huge bathroom, with an old-style bath along with a very modern glass shower stall. The bedroom window gives on the garden, which is nice...The bed is king-size and very comfortable. The room also has A/C.
The garden is quite large and comes with a small swimming pool...which unfortunately didn't look as if it had been cleaned in a while. Close to the house, there's a patio where breakfast is served in the morning. Madame Térisse, an architect, prepares the breakfasts and they're great...with a choice of eggs, croissants, home-made jams, baguettes, cereals, etc. Since it was delightfully sunny during my four-day stay, I don't know where breakfast is served on rainy days...probably inside.
Located on the rue de la Merci, it is just a few steps away from the wonderful Promenade du Peyrou and a few blocks from the university. The central square and the train station are also within comfortable walking distance.
All in all, this is a very quiet and comfortable place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent four glorious nights at La Chambre. Caroline was a wonderful hostess who made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the room on the ground floor which had a kitchenette and en suite facilities. Breakfast was served each morning in the garden and there was a lovely selection of pastries, bread, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurts and home made jams. I recommend Ma Chambre for a quiet, tranquil setting in the wonderful city of Montpellier. We travelled from London by train and Ma Chambre was only a 15 minute walk from Montpellier train station. It is a fantastic location as you can walk to the centre of city in a matter of minutes. We walked everywhere but it looked as if driving a car in the city would be a nightmare!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline t, Owner at Ma Chambre d'Hotes a Montpellier, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for this kind review, I was happy to meet you and hope to see you soon.
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent a long weekend here and it was really lovely Caroline is a charming person who discreetly did everything she could to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Breakfast was homemade and way above the usual expected French standard. The homemade marmalade was to die for.If you like hotel chain comfort this may not suit you but if you like originality and want to experience old fashioned French hospitality go and stay here soon

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lezzabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and l have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Montpellier. When l was looking to book a hotel l checked out the reviews and this one sounded just perfect offering a french experience and not a chain hotel.
Our mistake was to hire a car from the airport when we could have simply got a taxi ( only 20 mins)as the tram service is excellent and there is even one that takes you to the beach with a connecting bus. Unfortunately our google map didn't help and we ended up lost completely. However l called Caroline from my mobile phone and she tried her best to help, finally when we got somewhere near her place in the pooring rain on her bike with the dog running behind she came to meet us.

On a small street behind a big door is a place with charm and character and just a short walk to the wonderful city of Montpellier. The room with high ceilings and big shutter windows opens onto the gardens and small pool area. The bells ringing and the children playing in the school across we didn't mind it added to the atmposhere. Each morning the tables around the garden were set for breakfast with homemade touches in by now the sunshine,it was delightful.

If you like modern this place is not for you, if however you appreciate French hospitality and charm then this place has just that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glarus, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Very central, great location in the old city, less than a kilometer from the railway station. We enjoyed a few days in Montpellier, and Caroline Terisse made us feel very comfortable, just like at home. Her house and garden are a real calm place a few footsteps from the busy places.
Fridolin & Antoinette, from Switzerland

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frid-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Quite a bad experience overall. The place is really great and the rooms are very large, clean and overlooking a beautiful courtyard. The problem was all with Caroline who runs it who did not acknowledge that I had reserved a room after having sent me an email confirming this. She didn't check her email when it was suggested. She did, however have rooms available so we stayed. She then tried to up the price twice, firstly saying that the third member of our party could sleep in a different room for the same price as sharing, then changing her mind. She offered us to use a shower room and afterwards tried to up the price by 65€ on the grounds that it would have to be cleaned etc. She seemed crazy to be honest - a real pity given such a nice place. On balance it wasn't worth the hassle.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline t, Propriétaire at Ma Chambre d'Hotes a Montpellier, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Sir,

Although I appreciate the compliments about my home, I would like to set
the record straight about the way you judge my reception.
You came to my place at 11.00 AM without letting me know you were coming
when the check-in time is 5.00 P.M.
I left you all the keys to my home and when you came back at 2.00 P.M.
you locked yourselves up in two different rooms although you ahd rented
one room for three people. On top of this you did use the bathroom of a
third room. I tried to explain that you needed to pay for all these
upgrades but you refused bluntly (I had to redo the rooms and clean the
extra bathroom for my next guests).
Despite the fact that I overheard your freind mention that I was crazy,
I did serve you with a delicious breakfast on the sunny terrace.
It rejoices me to know that many guests appreciate my guest home...
Yours faithfully,

C.Terisse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#42 of 93 in Montpellier
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 93 in Montpellier
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Chambre d'Hotes a Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Chambre d'Hotes a Montpellier

Property: Ma Chambre d'Hotes a Montpellier
Address: 10 rue de la Merci, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is an old house in the historical center of MontpellierBeautiful rooms and nice garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing