We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor niggles but terrific value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines Montpellier Antigone
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms for six of us travelling to watch a rugby game.

Checkin was efficient and the staff helpful and spoke English better than we spoke French

The rooms are great we had a double bedroom and twin separate beds in the living room area. The other room had the reverse. Ours did not have a balcony the other room did.

Perhaps the only downside was the sparsity of towels. Only one bath towel and one hand towel between three men is not enough.

Great to have facilities in a small kitchen too.

Location perfect Antigone is a lovely place with a ten minute walk to the historic city centre.

Also right outside the door is a tram stop. Airport shuttle is again just ten minutes walk or one tram stop.

If like peace and quiet ask for a rear room with a balcony and life doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 428 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've already spent two summer holidays in this hotel and we'll definitely book it again. The place is perfect for family trips with our little daughter.

We usually book 2-room apartment (it's called One-Bedroom apartment for 1-4 people on the internet site). The first room - the lounge - is quite spacious, with a dining table, a TV and a wide pullout bed. The other one - the bedroom - is rather small though. There is a wardrobe and a large double bed in this room and moving around it could be quite tricky sometimes.
Apparently, they mean the pullout bed in the lounge for a child to sleep there at night. In our case, though, this completely prevents us from having a quiet dinner or watching TV after 10 PM when our daughter usually goes to bed. That was why we decided to give the bedroom to our daughter and settled ourselves in the lounge. Surprisingly, the pullout bed there turned out to be comfortable enough for us.

The apartment has a terrace connected with both rooms.

A/C works well, though I cannot say it's absolutely perfect (usually, it's better in the bedroom and a bit worse in the lounge). The staff is pleasant, always polite and ready to help.
Hotel has an underground parking (for a fee) and it could be quite a challenge to get in there if you have a big car, but when you are in, it's not difficult to find a spare place.
The location of this hotel is absolutely great. A quiet and beautiful Antigone district is such a nice place. There is a tram stop in front of the main entrance and St Roch railway station is just three stops away (10-15 min on foot). You can reach the city centre easily (15-20 min on foot) and nearby you will find a small market, a big shopping center (with a food
store) and several restaurants as well. For those travelling by car the location is also quite convenient, since it allows you to avoid traffic jams on the way out of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitri_1795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were able to obtain a studio apartment. We liked the location in the back of the property, very quiet with a large corner balcony. The sofa bed was quite comfortable. The kitchen was small but adequate. The property is easy to reach from the train station. Catch the tram that goes to the right. It is the 3rd stop, Antigone, and the Citadines is right in front of the tram stop. The staff couldn't be nicer. They provided lots of helpful advice, umbrellas, shopping carts, etc. There is a shopping mall nearby with a large supermarket, bakery, chocolate shop, everything to make your stay comfortable. We ate lunch in restaurants and had breakfast and dinner here. It made it very relaxing. Some people came in late and would thoughtlessly slam their doors but that is not the fault of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were happy in the back since I am a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good value for the price we paid, good location as not too far from city centre. Just walk through the shopping centre. Friendly staff and clean well appointed rooms only bad point was the sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you are travelling with a family or company more than 3 people, this hotel is ideal place to stay. This is not just a room, this is an apartment with a small kitchen area, two rooms and balcony. Very comfortable and clean. Furniture is nice and new, comfortable beds - in our apartment were double bed and sofa-bed. Good location: 5-7 minutes from the centre of Montpellier through the shopping centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eswenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We used this apartment for a stopover on the way back from a holiday in Spain. Extremely well situated for the autoroute but also an easy stroll into the town centre (go through the Polygon shopping centre for the quickest route). The tram stop is right outside the front door and will take you to the Aquarium and Odyssey one way and Place de La Comedie etc the other. If you have a room at the front of the hotel you will hear the trams. Shops (Butcher, grocer, wine, Spanish deli, cafe are right opposite and a couple of good mini supermarkets are very close by).
A lot of places to eat and drink one block behind the hotel.
Apartments a little out of date (fixtures, fittings, carpet etc) but well equipped and comfortable. Fast free wireless internet a bonus.
The only problem I wanted to flag up to others is that most of the underground car parks (including the hotel car park) have a height limit of 1.90m. We weren't able to park at the hotel because of this but fortunately (and seemingly unbeknown to the hotel staff) we found a nearby car park (Europa centre, essentially underneath the Olympic swimming pool) which had one level for high vehicles at €14 per 24 hours.
Our 2 young children slept in the main bedroom very happily which meant we could have dinner and sleep in the main room of the apartment (sofa bed). Just what we are looking for on our travels.

Room Tip: A room at the back might help with the tram/road noise, but it isn't that busy and the trams don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I found it while searching for a Hotel; I expected a Hotel, but this is a residence, with kitchen, fridge, dishwasher. I didn't need that. The room was a "studio" with a sofa-bed (not a bed). It's probably not bad for a long-term stay, but it's not what I expected. The pictures on the website were misleading. The receptionist lady was in a very bad mood; when she went away and new people came, they were friendlier and more efficient. There was no internet connectivity for a while (just when I needed to use it the most, with an urgent matter). Definitely NOT a 4/5 hotel... (it's more in the order of 2.5-3). It's not even cheap (there way cheaper hotels in France at a better quality; and this one is not even located in a great place. Parking was extra (it was not clear for me) and not cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTAOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
879 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Montpellier Antigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Montpellier Antigone

Address: 588 boulevard D Antigone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: $69 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Montpellier Antigone 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citadines Montpellier Antigone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Montpellier Antigone Hotel Montpellier
Citadines Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing