We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families, but no charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Montpellier Antigone
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Staying at the Citadines was a lot like staying at an Embassy Suites, you get clean comfortable accommodation with no character. Up to this point on our trip we had been staying at small hotels but as this was the recommended accommodation for a conference that my brother-in-law was presenting at we decided to stay here.
Let’s start with the location. The Antigone area of Montpellier is very new. It was built with an attempt to recreate the architecture of the ancient Greeks and Romans. In my opinion the attempt was unsuccessful and the result was an antiseptic facsimile of the beauty of this type of architecture. To get to the old city one has to walk through a modern shopping mall (Galleries Lafayette), when you emerge on the other side you are in the middle of the Place de Comedie, the main square of Montpellier.
We had a one bedroom suite, which gave us a separate bedroom with a double bed, a living/dining room with a table big enough for 6 people and a couch that converts into a queen sized bed. There was also a well equipped kitchenette and a balcony with a table. The room was clean and all the equipment worked well. Our dishwasher sprang a leak and dumped a lot of water of the floor, but they were very prompt with affecting the necessary repairs.
This is a good hotel for families who need the kitchen etc and want to be out of the hustle and bustle of the main tourist traffic, but gets the lower rating for its total lack of character.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CdnWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 438 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently stayed in a one bedroom apartment for about 2 months and were very happy with out stay. The apartment was small but very clean, a little old but fine for 2 people with an additional pull out sofa in the lounge to accomodate possibly 2 more people. The kitchen was adequate, a 2 burner hotplate, microwave and a fridge, a communal laundry is situated in the basement at a cost of 5 Euros per load. We found the staff to be very helpul and pleasant. The location was great just a 10 min walk into the "old town." There is a tram stop right outside the door which can take you to a very modern shopping centre with an entertainment area and many restaurants. We stayed on the second floor in a room with a balcony. Overall we enjoyed our stay and if we ever go back to Montpellier we will stay there again

Room Tip: I would stay on either the 2nd or 3rd floor in a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Like the last person, we were a bit apprehensive after reading reviews. We travelled with a baby and a three year old and was perfect. Staff were nice and helpful and location was not right in centre of things but had tram right outside and getting around town was easy. The kitchenette was well enough stocked for us, the fold out bed was large and comfortable. The room was clean. We had a one bedroom apartment at the back overlooking the garden area and were lucky to have a balcony off living room and bedroom. We were given a travel cot which meant we could have baby and 3 year old sleep in bedroom whilst we stayed in the lounge. Perfect. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Ask for one bedroom apartment at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit apprehensive about staying there. But the only problem we found was actually finding the place but in the end we got there and our first impression was "this looks good. On arrival at reception we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment, which we found had everything we needed and more!! The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful. It is situated in a very good location very close to the centre of Montpelleir, which we really enjoyed walking around, there are lots of things to see. If ever we were to visit Montpellier again we would head straight back to this aparthotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

From my experience, this premises is a little tired but it is clean, well-equipped, conveniently located and well staffed. My studio was quite big even if it did have a lot of small rooms. I was a bit worried about the sofa bed, but it turned out to be quite comfortable once I got set up. I didn't try the cooking facilities but I think they looked quite basic, the dining table looked more than adequate though. My colleague and I did have the breakfast which was worth EUR 9 only for the convenience, I saw lots of really nice looking bakeries in town if you have more time than we had.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamboSpraoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just be aware that what you are booking is an apart/hotel. This for us meant a bedsit with additional bathroom and kitchen. It well designed around a relatively small space. The sofa bed was NOT the most comfortable experience, but as we were just using the room for a base for three days this did not affect our break. The kitchen was small, but efficient, as was the bathroom.
Make a point of leaving the Citadine through the rear entrance and you will have a peaceful and entertaining walk up to the Polygone passing many restaurants, fountains and entertainers. When it threatened to rain the hotel provided us with a golfing umbrella. The staff were all polite although English skills were variable.
Overall they provide a central location at a great price for Montpellier.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the road at the front if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Be very careful when booking this hotel. Most rooms have a sofa-bed, not a proper bed. Be very specific if you want a single/double bed. The positive aspects of the hotel are the location, the internet wireless and kitchen, besides the friendly staff. The negative aspects are the noises from other apartments (especially if you are at the ground floor as the apt above can be very noisy), the dirty carpet and blankets, the crowded breakfast room, and stained towels. I would not stay in this hotel again, but certainly in the area. The tram number 1 is very convenient, as the shopping mall and open market near by.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a proper bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Montpellier Antigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Montpellier Antigone

Address: 588 boulevard D Antigone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: $77 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Montpellier Antigone 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines Montpellier Antigone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Montpellier Antigone Hotel Montpellier
Citadines Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing