We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My opinion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Montpellier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Montpellier
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    352
    185
    58
    15
See reviews for
358
128
41
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel lacks charachter and is in a somewhat desolate location - a big Supermarket a 10 minute walk away being one of the few facilities. The saving grace was the tram stop was less than five minutes from the hotel. We had booked a triple (advertised as one double and two singles) as we required three separate beds. The "singles" was a fold down couch with two singles about an inch apart - the thinness of the mattresses were not conducive to a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for just one night while transiting from Spain to Cote d'Azur. Lots of free parking here and it's just another practical Novotel. The restaurant was a bit expensive I thought and one of the waitresses was very rude. But for this one person, rest of the staff were very nice especially the front office staff.

Room was spacious for 2 adults + 2 kids - the sofa bed was a bit primitive tho! We did manage to get some sleep (we were very tired!). Buffet breakfast at 16euro/ person was quite nice. The location is not very close to the city centre but a 5 min tram ride takes you to there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmagadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for a night in mid August, as the campsite we were headed to could not fit us in till the day after the flight. We drove from Nimes airport, which took about 45 minutes - the hotel was just off the A9, bit tricky to actually get to - we could see it but couldnt find the entrance from the road at first but figured it after a couple of turn-arounds!

The hotel itself is nice -we had a family room which was fine for one night, but would not have been big enough for more than that for 4 of us. The swimming pool was a bonus and was quite busy, but the hotel provide towels and it was nice to laze by the pool for the afternoon after a very early flight.

The hotel is not really in the middle of anywhere - it's a bit like staying at a UK hotel that is on the outskirts of a retail or industrial area. Others have commented that the area was dodgy - I wouldn't say I noticed that, I just noticed that there didnt seem to be anything else around other than other hotels and a retail park across the road.

The restaurant was expensive - we stayed in a Novotel last year enroute to another campsite and this was the same, so is obviously a feature of Novotel restaurants. There are no bar snacks as such, and the meals were upwards of 15-20 euros, just for a burger. We headed out to find somewhere but ended up at the McDonalds round the corner when the kids saw the sign! The breakfast was nice, but again at 15 euros per adult it is only worth doing if you have kids as well, as the kids eat free.

If I was in the area and needed a stopover again, I'd definitely stay here again but think I would want somewhere more central if I was actually planning staying in the area for longer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sancerre, France
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family rented 2 rooms for 1 night in mid-summer. The air conditioning was excellent throughout!
The hotel is located in a kind of dodgy area so be sure to park on site (free) and avoid walking around at night.
The pool is very nice, large, clean and with a patio bar and dining area next to it.
We only had the breakfast buffet but it was the best hotel buffet I've had in a long time. Everything fresh, plentiful, varied with lots of fresh fruits and melons, and perfect service.

Room Tip: Room 335 is just 1 floor up and on the quietest side of the building (overlooking parking). Excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuluquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for one night. Staff are great, the hotel is not far from they very busy A9 montorway...
The hotel is a typical Novotel, does everything you need it to do.. Hotel has been used a lot, but everything works well. Good for a stop over. Parking space is a little complicated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
BEST WESTERN Eurociel
#1 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#27 of 85 in Montpellier
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Courtyard Montpellier
#9 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montpellier

Property: Novotel Montpellier
Address: 125 B avenue de Palavas, 34070, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montpellier is a 3 star hotel located 2 km from the centre of Montpellier and close to beaches. The hotel offers 163 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, a bar and 13 conference rooms for your meetings and seminars for up to 200 people. This 3star hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Montpellier with your partner or family. The hotel also features a free private car park and an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montpellier Hotel Montpellier
Montpellier Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing