We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, conveniently close to city center, but not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is new, clean and convenient. It probably appeals more to business travellers than to tourists, but it is suitable for both. The city centre is within walking distance and from that point of view ideal for exploring the city. Still, the location itself is not beautiful and I can imagine that some people will not feel entirely safe walking to the hotel at night, even though it is: you need to walk through a park, then cross a small brigde (not very well lit), through a little tunnel (hardly lit) to arrive at the hotel.
The rooms are fine, interior of the hotel is modern with an Asian touch, they have a car park (though it cost me quite some time to retrieve the car) and they serve good coffee.

I do recommend the hotel, in particular for business travellers, but probably would look for other options when I would travel as a tourist.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 572 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you travel using points for this hotel, it's a nice enough place -- but most significantly, be prepared to walk past a lot of sketchy people in the park to get here. But for the nightly police car and several on-duty officers in the park that you must walk through to get into town, I would have been worried for my safety.
For the positives, everything is very new and clean. Great maid service. Very helpful front desk staff. And a fleet of nice new cars out front for hire (getting a cab in Montpellier can be extremely difficult -- so this is a big plus if you anticipate needing a hired car). the room I had was exceptionally quiet... but it was also hermetically sealed and the windows would not open. The minibar is a plus.
For the negatives, the hotel has an odd and almost creepy Asian theme. The gym is only a couple of bikes and a couple of treadmills in a windowless room. The pool is unheated.
With respect to the other chain hotels, I think that the Pullman is in a better location. Colleagues stayed in the new Courtyard and liked it.
If you are looking for charm, stay at Le Guilhem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stay often in Montpellier, and wnted to try the new Crowne Plaza. The hotel is very close to the city centre, and in a quiet spot which is nice. Spotlessly clean as brand new. See how it goes. Breakfast was ok with everything you would expect from a 4* hotel. Scrambled eggs were awful though, but not a big deal as there were plenty of other things.
What wasn't good was the reception on arrival (evening). We parked in the private car park (don't bother!) and proceed to the recption. Nobody there! We waited a few minutes, and somebody eventually arrived from outside. (been on a ciggy break). She wasn't very welcoming and didn't even apologise for the wait. When we got to our room (very nice) we found there were no kleenex in the holder, so we decided that on our way out, we would ask for some to be put into the room. Asked the same girl at recption who told us that she didn't have any, and that we would have to wait until 10pm that her working partner comes in to get some,and we should ask when we got back! No " I'll have them put into your room or sorry about the inconvenience". Not at all professional for the so called classy hotel. No big problem, but annoying. Will go back though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEITH TRAVEL AGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear KEITH TRAVEL AGENT,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations and our breakfast options. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Montpellier in June 2012. Would we stay here again...NO. Rude front desk ladies (Anne Sophie and the other lady she brought to reception because her English was limited). We expect the french arrogance and rudeness in a small french establishment but we don't expect it at an international hotel such as the Crowne Plaza. Using the word 'impossible' comes across as rude and abrupt. Perhaps another word can be used when saying no to people.

Pathetic internet access. Kept logging off. In this day and age we consider internet access to be a necessity and not a luxury. It should be reliable and efficient. Unfortunately, here it was not.

Breakfast too expensive for what is on offer. 18euro for adults and 9euro for children. Not much on offer; dried fruit such as apricots, sultanas. Bread rolls, never enough croisants.

Pool is too cold.

Doors to rooms do not close properly so make sure you double check that they are closed before you walk away. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall hotel was very clean.

Strong carpet smell in corridors.

About 5-10 minute walk into the main part of town. Ok for adults but can get tiring for children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staci1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Staci1825,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you liked our room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and show you how we have improved.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very nice and very clean hotel close to the city center of Montpellier. The rooms are great and what I really appreciated was the the air condition was effective, could easily be adjusted, and what is most important, was absolutely calm. The hotel is closely located to the rails but the isolation is pretty good. The hotel has a pool that is absolutely fine for a city center hotel. For business people, the breakfast is absolutely fine although it does not offer a great variety. However, the food that it offers is great. It should be mentioned that the limos to the airport waiting in front of the hotel are actually cheaper than standard taxis (with taximeter).

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the city center are close to the railway. I found very few trains audible in th...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lerche35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Far enough to experience a stroll and a bit of peace (except for occasional train which somehow did not matter) but close enough to walk a relaxed few minutes to the largest pedestrianisation area in Europe. We had a suit with a balcony overlooking the pool and terrace area. Beautiful room full of all the amenities and extras you would expect. Faultlessly clean and in perfect condition I could not fault the room or the communal areas throughout the hotel at all.

The service was not particularly prompt but adequate. BUT avoid the rather disappointing breakfast and instead take a walk to the old town for a fresh, vibrant, authentic and quality breakfast experience.

I really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel but wonder if a small locally-run central positioned hotel might have had a better, more rustic feel rather than this hotel with its far eastern influences which you could have been in any city in the world - until you walked outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tip2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A business hotel at its finest. Everything new and clean, modern rooms, moderate pricing and only 5 minutes walk from the old town. We can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoOne0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,279 reviews
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
#15 of 93 in Montpellier
469 reviews
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
120 reviews
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum

Address: 190 rue d Argencourt, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: $108 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing