We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Comedie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Comedie
1 Bis Rue Baudin Montpellier, 34000, Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent position
friendly staff
Not expensive
Clean...perfect!
The tram stop is less then 2 mins from hotel and the station about 10 mins.
We (young couple) were there for a weekend and we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    74
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
45
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

There are no negatives for this hotel.
It's a bit boutique-y, all white and modern, although with a small French hotel atmosphere, very clean, good shower, friendly, free wifi, decent breakfast, good price. Trying to think of any negatives... maybe smallish rooms, but it's really close to the buzzing centre of Montpellier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This delightful small hotel really is a find. A few metres away from the mesmerizing Place de la Comedie, its location is perfect. It is clean and comfortable and quiet, with friendly and always helpful staff, and the breakfast is first class. It is incredibly good value, as a matter of fact. Our double room lacked independent bedside lighting - but a separate lamp was quickly found so that our marital bliss was not threatened by my husband's bouts of wakefulness! The servicing of our room was faultless and generous, and the air con totally reliable. Advice and directions are readily given, particularly by the splendid Olivier, who is truly a fount of local (and indeed pretty well all) knowledge. Vive l'Hotel de la Comedie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a small hotel refurbished in minimalistic, almost Nordic colourings - my kind of boutique hotel! Standard offering is €39 for a single room which is very good based upon the central location. Breakfast is additionally €7 and actually worth it.

My room was small with a single bed, aircon worked effortsly, Samsung flatscreen, small but clean bathroom with two towels...absolutely acceptable.

The location is nothing but brilliant - 10m to the central square of Montpellier, transportation, lots of restaurants and pedestian street. Excellent if you go out at night. Parking can be a problem, but there are parking houses nearby at €9 pr night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was a nice, friendly, clean, small hotel. I had a single room, which was on the small side, but pleasant enough. It would have benefited from a fridge I think.

The bathroom was small, but all features there, and the room was cleaned everyday. Air con in room, which was brilliant. My room faced out to a courtyard so was quiet, although other guests did make a little noise on ocassion.

I would recommend, if you want a convenient location, as right near centre and train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ju23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed just overnight. We took a train from Barcelona and had to stay in Montpellier for the night. Take the tram from the station and get off on the first stop. There is a great creperie very close by. The location is the best, in a very quiet street just off Place de la Comedie. Very simple hotel, nothing extra, room was pretty small and bathroom also. Friendly staff. If you want to explore the town is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed for the last two nights of our travelling trip around the Languedoc region, to explore Montpellier and get a game of golf at the Grande Motte. This was a really nice experience - friendly and helpful hosts, comfy beds and quiet at night. Room pretty small, and the toilet / shower is only just en suite as opposed to en lit, but this did not spoil a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was fine - lots to eat as a simpe, continental breakfast, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Nova Hotel
#36 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#15 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Royal Hotel
#12 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Hotel d'Aragon
#26 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Comedie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Comedie

Property: Hotel De La Comedie
Address: 1 Bis Rue Baudin Montpellier, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De La Comedie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing