We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location...almost perfect cuisine.”
Review of La Reserve Rimbaud

La Reserve Rimbaud
Ranked #20 of 1,413 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Perfect location...almost perfect cuisine.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

There is a private parking attached. The welcome was very warm (including the Chef!).
There was a full house for a Thursday lunch.
The Sommelier took her time before showing up, and we were getting dry throats.
She made up for it when requested to recommend a local red. It was a Coteaux du Languedoc Domaine des Gre Caux 2010, which was superb (Euro 45).
With the drinks we were served a delicious Spanish Ham, deep fried bread sticks and some very tasty and elaborated Croquettes, based on Chicken. There were also Tapenade, and two kinds of excellent Olive Oils on the table. All of it very tasty and inventive.
We had the "Menu Carte" (Euro 70), to which were offered a different wine with each dish. We elected to stay with the Sommelier's recommendation.
They were out of the Dorade which was replaced by a Sole.
When we ordered a second bottle, the waiter brought a 2011, without any comment. When I noted and said that we had a 2010, he answered that it was the last bottle. When I commented that the Sommelier should not have recommended the last bottle for a table of 5, where it was likely to have at least two bottles. The waiter came back having discovered "the very last bottle!"
Among the 5 of us we had the following:
-Huitre Reine Julianne a Bouzigues, caviar d' Aquitaine, tartare de veau. Met expectations, but only 2 oysters, the raw meat was very fresh and properly spiced.
-Langoustines rôties en carpaccio, émulsion de Champagne et oeuf de caille frit. Fantasticly well balanced.
-Rouget grille en voile de pain, petit pois, chorizo et coques. Met expectations well...delicious!
-Sole, sabayon aux agrume, légumes de printemps grille. Good...but perhaps the preparations would have been better with a Dorade?
-Filet et Ris de Veau grilles, Morilles, Ravioles d'oignons doux des Cévennes. There was very little Ris de Veau, but a big chunk of Filet, which was perfectly cooked and very tasty as were the Morilles. Better than one star!
-Tarte au Citron...pleasant to look at and well balanced and not too 'tarty'.
-Ardoise de fromages affines...were very well selected and very large portions.
Two of us had Mare's, which were "Strong and Tasty" (Euro 14) and was a nice crown on this excellent meal in this very pleasant and elegant atmosphere.
This place certainly deserves a star!...or two?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    167
    65
    21
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lived up to its Michelin star”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was dining alone at the start of a business conference. After a long walk From my hotel down some rather dubious roads and arriving 30 minutes late for my reservation, everything was suddenly worth it.

Lovely location by the river. Glorious room and service. Divine bread selection and accompaniments which was left on the table for me to indulge myself.

Excellent tasting menu with well matched flight of wines. Being offered a top up of one that I particularly enjoyed was a nice touch. Portions, tastes and textures were delightful, as they should be at this level. 7 courses was just right and a lovely evening's entertainment.

I have seen it written that Michelin stars are possibly more easily won in Europe but this was definitely on par with Michelin star restaurants in England.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's one Michelin star is deserved”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very enjoyable lunch in a really lovely setting

If you intend to dine out [seeking fine dinning] in Montpellier --- consider this restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunchisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The food was really teasty!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, calme. Big terrace with umbrellas. We took a menu of 35€ in the lunch time, and for this price we liked everything :) we started with apero, bread sticks with tapenade of black olives, some original souce and pesto. Then some of us took entrée of salty salmon, the others - ravioli with pig's foot and souce of pease. It was delicious! For the main diches we took codfishe with risotto and white mushrooms. Just one of us took veal's kidneys with mash potatoes and didn't find it good. Veal's kidneys were red inside, we asked to cook it more but the result was the same.
For desert we had a tarte of kiwi merengue and a cake of peach on the puff pastry with white chocolate souce.
The service was nice and not too much fast. With every dish we had some explanations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a family celebration”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were 10 of us celebrating a family event beginning of July, nothing was too much to ask when organising the event, the staff was extremely accommodating, the food was fantastic and of course the view on the Lez riverside very refreshing, one of my favourite restaurant in Montpellier. Go there you are sure to receive a warm welcome and have a wonderful culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reserve Rimbaud also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to La Reserve Rimbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing