We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to its Michelin star”
Review of La Reserve Rimbaud

La Reserve Rimbaud
Ranked #18 of 1,388 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lived up to its Michelin star”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was dining alone at the start of a business conference. After a long walk From my hotel down some rather dubious roads and arriving 30 minutes late for my reservation, everything was suddenly worth it.

Lovely location by the river. Glorious room and service. Divine bread selection and accompaniments which was left on the table for me to indulge myself.

Excellent tasting menu with well matched flight of wines. Being offered a top up of one that I particularly enjoyed was a nice touch. Portions, tastes and textures were delightful, as they should be at this level. 7 courses was just right and a lovely evening's entertainment.

I have seen it written that Michelin stars are possibly more easily won in Europe but this was definitely on par with Michelin star restaurants in England.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    158
    62
    19
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naxos, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's one Michelin star is deserved”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very enjoyable lunch in a really lovely setting

If you intend to dine out [seeking fine dinning] in Montpellier --- consider this restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunchisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The food was really teasty!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, calme. Big terrace with umbrellas. We took a menu of 35€ in the lunch time, and for this price we liked everything :) we started with apero, bread sticks with tapenade of black olives, some original souce and pesto. Then some of us took entrée of salty salmon, the others - ravioli with pig's foot and souce of pease. It was delicious! For the main diches we took codfishe with risotto and white mushrooms. Just one of us took veal's kidneys with mash potatoes and didn't find it good. Veal's kidneys were red inside, we asked to cook it more but the result was the same.
For desert we had a tarte of kiwi merengue and a cake of peach on the puff pastry with white chocolate souce.
The service was nice and not too much fast. With every dish we had some explanations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a family celebration”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were 10 of us celebrating a family event beginning of July, nothing was too much to ask when organising the event, the staff was extremely accommodating, the food was fantastic and of course the view on the Lez riverside very refreshing, one of my favourite restaurant in Montpellier. Go there you are sure to receive a warm welcome and have a wonderful culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb food while overseeing the river Lez”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Superb product cuisine using the products of Provence with an innovative touch. The menu changes regularely. Each plate has a selected wine choosen by a talented sommelier which combines wonderfully well with the food

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reserve Rimbaud also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to La Reserve Rimbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing