We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious vegetarian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tripti Kulai

Tripti Kulai
Ranked #745 of 1,285 Restaurants in Montpellier
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Comédie
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delicious vegetarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The food of the vegetalienne dish was fresh made. Vegetables, bulgur and hummous were tasty. A mango lassi and gratine also delicious. The woman who served the food was very friendly. The only factor that made our experience not perfect was the atmosphere. Too many pictures of a certain person made it difficult to convince us coming again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    37
    24
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modest but honest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are vegetarian and you are looking for a place to eat in Montpellier, this one is probably one of the few options you'll find in this city. If you are a vegan and you are looking for a restaurant to eat in montpellier, this place is The ONLY choice available in the inner city.

The prices of the meals are correct (around 5€ for a starter or adessert and between 9 to 14€ for a main course). The dishes are simple and wholesome (vegetables, sprouted seeds, whole grains, but also "no gluten" option for those who can't eat it, etc.). They try to avoid to use too much salt in their cooking so some meal might appears bland for people who aren't use to "no salt" cooking. Vegan options are less numerous than the vegetarian ones, but there is still a good choices. They also produce very tasty and fresh juices from vegetables, fruits and spices.

The service is welcoming, smiling, and can suggest you some change in the recipe if you don't like or can't eat some specific food, so don't be affraid to ask them for suggestion.

I've been there with some friends and work colleague who aren't vegetarian/vegan and most of them really enjoy their choices. I was the only one who was a little bit disappointed by the meal I've chosen (Vegan Soba Noodles) which was almost tasteless (the miso they used was just insipid), however the soup of the days was good.

If you are looking for wholesome foods, a vegetarian (and vegan-friendly) restaurant and a calm, modest and welcoming place to eat, give it a try!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I am visiting a friend here in montpellier and as i'm a vegetarian and on a special diet Tripti Kulai was recommended to me.
It didn't disappoint! The service was excellent the set up is beautiful and most importantly the food was fantastic! I dare say you don't have to be a vegetarian to enjoy it and you really couldn't tell that the gluten free items were gluten free.
I really don't understand that the rating here isn't better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 157_foodlover_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor! Go elsewhere, please believe me!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

As a vegitarian of many years, I am always happy to find and try new veggie restaurants. So it was with pleasure that I convinced a friend to have lunch here with me.

We should have known by the poorly decorated, unlit room with a bad smell (cabbage perhaps??) that this would not be great. We sat and ordered the "dish of the day" for about 10 euros, which included a cold pesto bread/cake, cold acidic garlic mushrooms, and a basic salad. It wasn't great. I get the impression they don't have a proper kitchen or chef. For dessert I had some kind of inedible rice jelly which makes me sick to even think about it to this day.
To add insult to injury, the staff (who I believe may have been affiliated with Hare Krishna) invited us to get tickets to a concert which appeared to be for some sort of cult.

I know you often see bad reviews on tripadvisor, but in this case I can't stress enough that you really are better off avoiding this place. There are plenty of places in Montpellier which will serve a decent veggie meal. This place is an embarrassment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Charming vegetarian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Happened to come across this restaurant while walking around the old part of Montpellier. It has a decor with character and the staff were very kind and friendly. And yes, the food was yummy - as a vegetarian it was great to have lots of choice but I went for the plat du jour which was great and filling. Reasonably priced. Fresh juices were available. I asked for a mix which perhaps could have been done with more attentiveness to the proportion of the two juices. But this is a minor issue. Would love to eat here again when back in Montpellier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tripti Kulai also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Tripti Kulai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing