We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Les Bains de Montpellier
Ranked #40 of 1,415 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The unusual weather (rain the entire day) meant that we could not eat outside in the huge patio/courtyard area. Walking through a relatively small door on the street the courtyard area opens up to a surprisingly large area and suddently you are away from anything other than the atmosphere intentionally created. Food very good. Service very good. As with all restaurants in montpellier a little expensive, yet worth it. Atmosphere inside is most enjoyable. Definitely book. and if the weather is right, definitly book outsid in the courtyard

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray111111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    258
    83
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Romantic setting, excellent seafood”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to Les Bains as a backup when our primary choice was closed for the national holiday, but I'm glad we did. Menus from 35 euros, mine was a sliced duck main course and my wife's was a sea bass. The starter for me was a cold seafood salad. I loved the citrus flavors in the duck sauce. Reasonable local wines by the 500ml carafe. The courtyard setting after dark was quite romantic, and the separate dining rooms were quite intimate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice interior and patio, but poor food for the money”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was very disappointed with the food quality. My dish, a shrimp and rice wok dish, was mediocre at best: the vegetables were overcooked, the sauce uninteresting and too sweet, and the shrimp were not very flavourful. I've had much better versions of this dish in other Montpellier restaurants (for instance, the Kitchenette, the Comptoir de L'Arc) for much cheaper. My partner's dishes were a little better, but still overpriced for the quality (for example, a small fruit bowl of pineapple and orange pieces for 6.50Eu!). The wine mark-up is also higher than at other restaurants. The patio is very attractive, as is the interior, but to me it's not worth the inflated prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valentinoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful location on site of former 18th century bath house. This being December, the outdoor dining area was not open, but it looks quite charming from the photos. Great food, but no English menus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank craigeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff and good food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I ate dinner at les bains while in Montpellier. The server was very helpful and guided us through the menu without missing a beat. He even did a good job with wine recommendation and I am a hard person to please with wine. Te food was very good but not spectacular. The setting inside was also very relaxing. I would go again if in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank mdfPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Bains de Montpellier also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Les Bains de Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing