We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust Alexandre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambre d'Autres et Suite du Merle Blanc
Ranked #17 of 44 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Nice, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Trust Alexandre”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The owner of this wonderful apartment in the heart of Montpellier, Alexandre, has excellent taste in guiding you to local restaurants, places to visit, short trips to take by train, etc. And his apartment is lovely. He stocks the refrigerator with juice, and butter and jams. He walks you past the bakery to shop at in the mornings, stocks the kitchen with coffee, and the place even has a clothes washer and dryer. There is even wi-fi. The bed is comfortable for a good nights sleep, and the shower has great pressure. I spent a week here, but could have moved in and stayed forever. My boyfriend could only stay the first two nights before traveling abroad for work, but the place is charming. Alexandre is only a phone call away and is a host who really cares that you have a great visit. Bravo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeypot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
68
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were due to stay at this B&B but, unfortunately, there was a problem with our booking when we arrived. However, Alexandre was more than helpful and found us a stunning alternative (see my other reviews) and for that we thank him. I have no doubt that you would have a great stay with Alexandre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We booked this property after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I was expecting a different look and feel, which was the case. However the location is noisy at night and in the morning, which is OK for people that work, not so much for vacationers like us. I had asked if the bathroom was private, and it is not as you need to walk out of your room to get to it. Getting there by car was a nightmare! After our GPS took us through a pedestrian area (yes, it did!), we parked at a distance and walked our way to the location (we actually did not even have the correct address for the property). Breakfast was minimal, certainly not what North Americans expect. All of this leads me to conclude that the room was over-rated and over-priced.

Room Tip: OK if you are there on business, not for vacation. And don't drive!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I've really enjoyed my stay at the Suite du Merle Blanc. I came to Montpellier for business reasons and luckily I could spend one week like being in my own apartment. Coming back from the office I somehow felt home. I didn't have to go out every evening for dinner since i could cook something and have my meal being happily relaxed on the huge sofa!!
However when i felt like going out it was perfect since I was already in the heart of Montpellier enjoying the nice atmosphere of this lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthoszka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed with Alexandre for a weekend break. He helped us book a popular restaurant in advance and park the car and generally looked after us very well. We felt at home in his beautiful bizarre of a home - part Dr Dolittle, part Dr Parnassus. The flat is walking distance from the central squares of Montpellier's old town but far enough from the touristy bits around Place de la Comedie to feel off the beaten track.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caviarandsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is a quirky place in a terrific location. Alexandre is first-class as a host and makes everything very comfortable. Montpellier itself is a lovely city

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allseamonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-east england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We chose to visit Montpellier for a short city break and were not disappointed. The city is beautiful and picturesque with a lovely young vibe. Cafes, restaurants, culture, wonderful pedestrian areas and unique shops. We were originally booked to stay at Baudon de Mauny but after our stay there was unexpectedly cancelled by the owner we were so lucky to find accomodation courtesy of Alexandre Gumbau in his delightful apartment Merle Blanc, in the heart of the city. It is the most perfect spot to feel right in the heart of things but peaceful and comfortable. The apartment has everything you could possibly need, well-equipped kitchen, light , bright rooms, internet and TV (we didn't need to use which was lucky as we couldn't figure it out!!). I loved the fact that we could use just like a home and be right in the heart of a very lovely southern med city.
I would really recommend this apartment and I'm sure Alexandre's B&B is just as nice and I would really recommend Montpellier. We travelled on Eurostar from england and booked it and TGV direct to Montpellier through Eurostar. It couldn't have been easier.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beebum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Montpellier Centre Comedie
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d'Autres et Suite du Merle Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Autres et Suite du Merle Blanc

Property: Chambre d'Autres et Suite du Merle Blanc
Address: 3 impasse du Merle Blanc, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier > Saint-Roch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Chambre d'Autres" : guesthouse (2 or 3 persons)It is in a classified building of the 14th century, located in a quiet and bourgeois district of the pedestrian Historical Center Of Montpellier, that Alexander (and his cat) makes your share the cozy atmosphere of his apartment, a universe of plants, secondhand objects and antiques.Whith its generous heights under ceiling and its stone "bars" on the floor, the bedroom is spacious and warm.As for the bathroom situated halfway up... it makes you literally succomb to its "so British" charm. "Les Suites du Merle Blanc" : charming hotel-apartment (max 4 persons)This fully-equipped romantic apartment located in the heart of the historic center of Montpellier is a haven of tranquility and sunshine.Exposed beams, Castries stone walls,terracotta floor tiles, tastefully chosen furniture and plants all provide the charm of South of France living, along with the comforts of modern life: a queen-size bed, fully-equipped kitchen, flat screen TV, internet, lap-top, telephone, washing machine… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chambre d'Autres et Suite du Merle Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing