We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbeliss Polygone Hotel
Ranked #84 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Except some noise from ths street and neighbor rooms, it's a good price / quality stay in downtown Montpellier.
Staff really efficient and nice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank NICk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    22
    25
    72
See reviews for
20
41
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed here in July 2011- also summer 2010 but didn't get around to writing a review.

What can I say? you get what you pay for! Personally, the main attraction with this hotel is the very convenient location and the very reasonable rates. The train station is a 5 min walk away, as is Place de la comedie which is the main focal point of the city.

Both stays were during the peak summer season- every other hotel I looked at cost at least twice as much...for short break of 2-3 days it was a perfect base for exploring the city.
Yes the hotel is in need of modernisation, there is no lift etc but I quite liked the charm of it...the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful with giving information on the local area, activities etc.
It's obviously not a 5-star hotel will all the mod cons but it was perfect for our needs- we spent more time out and about, exploring the city and local area.

I would say that a room on the 1st or 2nd floor is best, with a balcony so you can let some air in. My second stay was in a ground floor room- this was a bit noisy as you hear people in the lobby plus we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the window open. Others may prefer this as you do not need to take the stairs...

Overall, a great basic place to stay if you're on a budget, want to be centrally located and are not looking for frills...if you prefer all the creature comforts, I would recommend you stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: There is no lift- try to get a room on the first floor so you don't have as far to climb the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtoileDuMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The actual location of the hotel is fantastic, within 5 minutes you are in the centre of Place d'le Comedinne and the Antigone, if the review score was solely based on this I would give the highest possible rating!

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and Mo even carried our bags to the top floor.....there is no lift!

The whole building is in desperate need of an extreme makeover and the towels are in need of the bin. The room was clean (ish) but very basic,the beds were comfortable and the maid made the beds but towels were not changed during the 3 night stay.

What else can be said.....The shower was powerful, the balcony small - you would probably struggle to stand on the balcony with feet bigger than a size 10;0)

We all suffered bites to our legs and ankles, on departure we mentioned this to the receptionist as we were determined it was bed bugs.....he said they had a little problem!!! So have I now round my ankle but hey it didn't ruin the weekend lol.

However to sum up the whole weekend and despite the low rating, if I travelled to Montpellier again I would stop in this hotel. For what we paid, roughly £55 each for 3 nights it was a superb location.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if you have trouble with stairs or have alot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We wanted a cheap hotel as a sleeping base for a short trip away - close to centre and transport links and this hotel provided just that. The location is very good , near to the main square and train station and other sights. Downside was very small rooms and a tiny shower cubicle but it was clean and had comfortable beds. Would we stay here again -? Quite possibly if as on this occasion we were unable to find anything else with a good location at the same price. Not a hotel for those who like their "frills" but it did what wevwanted well enough. Staff were helpful.Word of warning - if like us you end up on the top floor you will feel a lot fitter at the end of your visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notabrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Start with the good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the railway station and about 10 minutes from The airport shuttle bus (why the shuttle bus doesn't go to the railway station, I never understood). The bed was fine as well (firm). The internet is free and always worked.

The not so good. The whole hotel is tired and tatty. The shower handset was just that - it had no wall fixing, so you had to struggle to have a shower. Breakfast is nothing special either (6Euro50).
The bad. The 45Euro is not the whole story. Firstly it didn't include the 85 centimes per person per night tax which wasn't mention anywhere pre-booking and secondly, the aircon is 3 Euro per day. Ok in September but a must in July. Imagine going to a hotel and they wanted to charge for a heater. Finally, the noise from the stairs. You could hear everytime anyone went up or down them which is a pain in the middle of the night.

In conclusion this hotel is OK for a stop over but not much else.

Montpelier is a well worth a visit or to use as a base to visit other places from by using the excellent train service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I have stopped there numerous times - some for short stays and one stint for six-and-a-half months (!!). (The With Spouse/Partner relates to my last stay for a couple of days)

The staff have been absolutely brilliant to me, the rooms are spotless and the feel of the hotel is one of total comfort.

You may have questioned how I stayed there for over half a year... well, the hotel has 20 rooms, but one of them is detached from the main building (between which is a small courtyard). This detached room (double bed) is perfect for those who want to stay at the hotel for a longer period, like me at one time!

The location is perfect - only 200 metres away from the heart of Montpellier, Place de la Comedie.

For what you pay for the room and breakfast, the quality is exceptional. WHETHER FOR SHORT OR LONGER STAY, STOP HERE.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.3 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#42 of 93 in Montpellier
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#53 of 93 in Montpellier
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colisee Verdun
Hotel Colisee Verdun
#58 of 93 in Montpellier
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Strasbourg
Le Strasbourg
#40 of 93 in Montpellier
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre
Hotel Ulysse Montpellier Centre
#15 of 93 in Montpellier
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeliss Polygone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeliss Polygone Hotel

Property: Abbeliss Polygone Hotel
Address: 16 avenue du Pont Juvenal, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbeliss Polygone Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeliss Polygone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing